City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I can't believe someone actually posted a recipe for City Chickens! I'm 47 (2006) and ate City Chickens as a young child when visiting my Polish grandparents who lived in Pittsburgh. Thanks Diane for posting this recipe! It is truly one of my favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My mother always made this as I was growing up. Now it is a "new" family favorite as I have rediscovered it!! This is an awsome recipe and enjoyable for all ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is a great recipe. My mom used to make city chicken when I was a kid, and I always hated it. It was always dry. This recipe produces a very tender, moist city chicken. I did not need nearly as much flour as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Having grown up in Erie, PA like one of the other reviewers, I have wonderful memories or this being served at family gatherings. My mom and aunts were truly the best cooks in Erie Co.! This is my recollection of how City Chicken is prepared: coat in flour, roll in egg wash, then in crushed saltines or seasoned bread crumbs. Brown in some vegetable oil, transfer to a baking dish and add enough broth to cover bottom of pan. Bake covered in at a low temp., about 275, for about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is a very good recipe. The meat is so tender and flavorful. I too, did not skewer the meat, just cubed and rolled into the flour so it could take on as much as possible. Then followed the rest of the recipe. All I have cooked it for, have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very Good! And sooooooo easy! I didn't use skewers, and I used chicken instead of pork (I didn't have any pork), it turned out great! Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was great. We live in Pennsylvania and have never eaten City Chicken, but see it everywhere. You wouldn't think that so little ingredients would produce so much taste. I even put extra thyme in, thinking that the amount called for would never even give it enough taste and it was too much (I had to try picking some out of the juice while it was cooking after I tasted it). Just when you think that the gravy will be a little watery, it thickened up quickly at the end. Everyone loved it, and I'll be making this again. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I tweaked this recipe a bit. I cube two pork tenderloins, and marinated them for 6 hours in fat free italian dressing. I drained the dressing off, and then followed the recipe to the "T". It was superb! My kids and hubbie loved it! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This is a awsome recipe. The only thing that I had to do was add a little bit of flour to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Considering the fact that my husband grew up with fried pork chops, this gives me some variation. I put it on top of rice and even my finicky daughter loved it!! I add lots of garlic and Tony Chachere's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAMWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States