City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
My husband and I couldn't stop eating this! What I did differently: I didn't have any skewers so I didn't bother cutting the pork into cubes. I still prepared the larger pieces (like country-style ribs) the same way. I also added a packet of onion soup mix over the pork, then cooked for the stated length of time. I made the gravy and served over brown rice. My whole family loved this and I will make it again!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I didn't do the pork on skewers because I didn't have any... I just cooked the pork in a pan with the gravy. I added garlic pimento spice to the flour, salt and pepper coating because I never cook without some kind of garlic. I served it over egg noodles. It was a little bland though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was good, but found it a bit salty. I'll be more careful with that next time. Overall, very tender and enjoyed it over rice with some crunchy La Choy chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
It never ceases to amaze me at the wonderful recipes I can find on this site. I've had City Chicken once and LOVED it. Tried following the original recipe, but it wasn't 'quite right'. Once I rolled it in flour, egg, cracker crumbs I knew that was the missing ingrediant. It gives you a much nicer crust on the cubes. I also baked it since I couldn't fit that many skewers in my pan and wanted to get the most for my efforts. Now I am happy to say "It tastes just like Nana's."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
My DH, who is from Western New York, was glad to hear my plans for dinner tonight, since he has fond memories of City Chicken from growing up. This was delicious! We served it with mushroom risotto. I must have simmered it at too high a heat, though... it ran out of juice and I had to add more stock. The pork was very tender and very, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Oh my goodness, I have been thinking about city chicken and was not surprised that it is on my favorite site allrecipes! This is the best recipe ever and brings back great childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was so good. My Grandma Kokjohn, who lived in Ft. Madison, Iowa used to make this alot back in the 1950s. It was my favorite meal - she would serve it with mashed potatoes, creamed peas or carrots and homemade applesauce. I think she used the egg wash and cracker crumbs, but I thought I would try the flour and it came out great. Brought back some sweet memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I'M 65 AND MY MOTHER MADE THIS OFTEN, BECAUSE MANY MOONS AGO IN WVA, PORK AND VEAL WERE CHEAPER THAN CHICKEN, BUT I NEVER TIRED OF IT AND I'M STILL MAKING IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This tasted just like my mom's. Yum. After browning the city chicken - I baked in the oven at 350 for an hour. The meat was perfect and the gravy was delicious. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so much like the city chicken I grew up with. It even rivaled the local restaurant’s recipe. I made the recipe as is and would not change a thing. I am so happy I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States