City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very good! Haven't had this in years so it was quite a treat - even the grandkids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
YUM! My grandmother used to make this all the time. I was always amazed at how tender the meat was. She called it "city chicken", but no one I've ever talked to knows what it is. This recipe hit it on the head. It was so easy and so good. My husband and kids all loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Awesome..I didn't add the tyme (didn't have any), I did what most did with browning it and then baking it. I added fresh garlic, capers and a little bit of cream and served over buttered noodles with parsley. Make sure you get the browned pieces from the bottom of pan.Yummy my boys age 3 & 12 loved it and ask fori it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
very yummy!! I browned the meat and then put the chicken broth in. I didn't use the skewers. The meat was tender, tasty and very easy to make. A winner of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very nice. Didn't bother with the skewers and cooked a bit shorter and hotter (ran out of time). Also burnt it a bit initially but it all still turned out fine. Will make sure I cook it at a lower temperature next time since it came out a bit lumpy. Since I didn't skewer it, I threw the cut up pieces into a bag with the flour and shook it - much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this pork was extremely tender and flavorful. a wonderful alternative to pork roasts as we eat a lot of pork and I get bored with roasts. added capers and lemon juice/zest to the sauce and served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great recipe. If you do not want that soggy flour coating on the meat, then stir the mixture- the more flour that falls off the meat the better and the thicker the sauce with will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wonderful way to prepare city chicken! I will make this over and over!! My only problem was that my gravy never thickened but I used it to my advantage by putting the broth over my rice and asparagus, wow what a delicious combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I have been making City Chicken occasionally for many years. Tried this recipe last night. I had never tried it with the chicken broth and this was very good! I always use beef and pork on my skewers. A lot of times you can find these already on skewers at a meat market. I served this with an apricot cashew rice and the meal was so good! To save time make up your skewers ahead of time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I come from a Polish Russian family in Michigan, and this was a favorite once a week...like a treat. I also put a few pieces of chicken breast on the skewers. Old timey recipes are hard to find anymore.....Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States