Citrus Wild Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The texture of this sauce is spot on. I used to top mini cheesecakes. I thought this would be a good topping since the cheesecakes were naturally sweet, but it didn't work out that way. The orange and lemon juice made it too sour. This is a good sauce, just not what I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just love the the flavor the cinnamon and citrus adds to the blueberries. Yum! I used fresh blueberries because they were going bad and I wanted to use them. Because I used fresh rather than frozen blueberries, there was less water so I should have used less cornstarch. My syrup was a little too thick but, tasted ooooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good put on blueberry pancakes also used a mounded teaspoon of cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Wow, this sauce was great! I used fresh blueberries, light brown sugar, and it turned out WONDERFUL! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
After seeing so many beautiful pictures and good reviews on this sauce recently, I decided to make it as a topping for pancakes this morning and a filling for crepes tomorrow. My citrus loving daughter can't get enough, but I think that I would have preferred a sauce without so much citrus flavor. No fault of the recipe (hence the name), just a personal preference. The way the recipe comes together and thickens is terrific and easy. Will probably use this again, but reduce the OJ or omit the lemon juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious! Served on pancakes and it was a nice change from the overly sweet maple syrup. I fresh squeezed my OJ and I think that makes a big difference. Had some left over and I can't wait to try some on vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Delicious berry sauce. I used fresh berries but other than that followed as is. Great flavor, loved the citrusy undertones. Used as a topping for pound cake and was a huge hit. Will be making again for pancake topping. Thanks for the great topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I like the tart tang the lemon gives this sauce. The cinnamon is a nice touch too. Subtle. I used dried wild blueberries in place of frozen, using half the amount called for, and it resulted in a much thicker sauce than I am sure is normal. I thought I may have to reduce the sugar as well because of the dried berries, but it was perfect. The lemon keeps it from being overly sweet. Served over blueberry flax panakes (allrecipes) it made for a double dose of blueberry deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was okay. I didn't care for the orange juice/citrus taste. The next time I make this I will substitute grape juice for the oj and leave out the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Yum! I had blackberries to use up, so used this recipe as a guideline, substituting blackberries for the blueberries. Yummy over pancakes, and we look forward to having it over vanilla ice cream... I will definitely make with blueberries as well in the future. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States