Citrus Wild Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times now. It is delicious, especially on Belgian Waffles. A nice balance between the blueberries, the citrus flavors of the orange juice, lemon juice and zest, and the cinnamon. The only alteration I have made is to add a pinch or so of salt to the berry mixture as it comes to a boil. Doing so enhances all of the other flavors and makes them pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Recently I got a heart waffle iron and had a brunch featuring Scandinavian Sweeteheart Waffles from this site. As I live i Finland I wanted a sauce made with one of the local berries that we pick int he forest, so I tried this one out using blueberries that I had frozen from last year. This sauce is divine. Citrusy and with a fill-your-mouth-with-blueberries feel. I followed someone else's advice and added extra brown sugar and still I think I could have added more, as we ended up combining it with the other topping (maple syrup) to make it sweeter. This was great, thank you very much for posting such a simple yet delish little treat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefosaybea
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great recipe, subbed out blueberries and used blackberries. Added some sugar as my hubby has a huge sweet tooth. Overall, GREAT and will make it again. Husband approved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We had an abundance of peaches this year, so I made a peach upside down cake in a cast iron frying pan on a camping trip. We had just picked a bunch of blueberries, so I whipped up this sauce and served it with the cake and vanilla ice cream. It was a huge hit! The sauce has the perfect balance of sweet and tart. The lemon brightens the blueberry flavour, and the consistency of the sauce was perfect. It's fast and easy, and the flavours go with a million things. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Super easy. Used fresh blueberries, and added some candied ginger. Omitted cinnamon. Delicious over buttermilk pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Good. Tart. Citrusy. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've made this at least four times as it's a quick and easy recipe to master. I like the consistency and the flavor of the sauce - not too thin or runny, yet not so thick I can't pour it on pancakes or spoon over Panna Cotta. I prefer this to store bought as it is not overly sweet and I know what ingredients are in it. Just use a little more sweetener, like a a few more tablespoons, if the blueberries are sour(taste them first) or do ALL orange juice - instead of 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup orange juice - do 3/4 cup orange juice. If the sauce is too thin use more thickener (cornstarch) and/or cook it a little longer. Most times the sauce thickens pretty well on its own in the fridge, however, if it's too thick - use less thickener and/or less frozen blueberries (thaw and drain) next time. Same with the lemon flavor being overpowering - use a little less. It's a fairly forgiving recipe. Experiment and make the recipe your own. Thanks you Bri bri for the recipe - it's become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Wonderful flavor, but was alittle to runny in my opinion. Will make again to see maybe I did something different that made it runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The texture of this sauce is spot on. I used to top mini cheesecakes. I thought this would be a good topping since the cheesecakes were naturally sweet, but it didn't work out that way. The orange and lemon juice made it too sour. This is a good sauce, just not what I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States