Citrus Wild Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've made this at least four times as it's a quick and easy recipe to master. I like the consistency and the flavor of the sauce - not too thin or runny, yet not so thick I can't pour it on pancakes or spoon over Panna Cotta. I prefer this to store bought as it is not overly sweet and I know what ingredients are in it. Just use a little more sweetener, like a a few more tablespoons, if the blueberries are sour(taste them first) or do ALL orange juice - instead of 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup orange juice - do 3/4 cup orange juice. If the sauce is too thin use more thickener (cornstarch) and/or cook it a little longer. Most times the sauce thickens pretty well on its own in the fridge, however, if it's too thick - use less thickener and/or less frozen blueberries (thaw and drain) next time. Same with the lemon flavor being overpowering - use a little less. It's a fairly forgiving recipe. Experiment and make the recipe your own. Thanks you Bri bri for the recipe - it's become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was DELICIOUS! What a lovely topping for pancakes! I will be using this AGAIN & AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
After seeing so many beautiful pictures and good reviews on this sauce recently, I decided to make it as a topping for pancakes this morning and a filling for crepes tomorrow. My citrus loving daughter can't get enough, but I think that I would have preferred a sauce without so much citrus flavor. No fault of the recipe (hence the name), just a personal preference. The way the recipe comes together and thickens is terrific and easy. Will probably use this again, but reduce the OJ or omit the lemon juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just love the the flavor the cinnamon and citrus adds to the blueberries. Yum! I used fresh blueberries because they were going bad and I wanted to use them. Because I used fresh rather than frozen blueberries, there was less water so I should have used less cornstarch. My syrup was a little too thick but, tasted ooooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Wonderful flavor, but was alittle to runny in my opinion. Will make again to see maybe I did something different that made it runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious! Served on pancakes and it was a nice change from the overly sweet maple syrup. I fresh squeezed my OJ and I think that makes a big difference. Had some left over and I can't wait to try some on vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Delicious berry sauce. I used fresh berries but other than that followed as is. Great flavor, loved the citrusy undertones. Used as a topping for pound cake and was a huge hit. Will be making again for pancake topping. Thanks for the great topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The texture of this sauce is spot on. I used to top mini cheesecakes. I thought this would be a good topping since the cheesecakes were naturally sweet, but it didn't work out that way. The orange and lemon juice made it too sour. This is a good sauce, just not what I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good put on blueberry pancakes also used a mounded teaspoon of cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Wow, this sauce was great! I used fresh blueberries, light brown sugar, and it turned out WONDERFUL! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States