Citrus Turkey Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for dinner a few nights ago because I had bought a Turkey Breast Tenderloin and looked for a recipe but really couldn't find one then I was told I could just put into a crock pot, I then found this recipe so I used this but changed it up a bit because I had to use what I had in the house. I used the Turkey breast tenderloin and garlic powder and paprika I used veg. oil not olive oil ( although I think olive oil would have been a lot better) I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce. I did but a dash of soy sauce in it. I used salt and pepper and the garlic cloves. I used chicken broth not wine. I also had O.J. in the fridge but at some point through the night my boyfriend must have got up and drank the rest of it, so I couldn't use that either. I made the gravy and it was great. I made homemade mashed potatoes and corn with this along with some dinner rolls. Great dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Despite all the glowing reviews, I have to agree with Nicole on this recipe. I did use a turkey london broil in place of the roast and I did mince the garlic. The turkey was tender but the only flavor that came through was the paprika. I could not detect the orange juice or the garlic. Maybe this would be okay with a lot less paprika, but I'm not going to waste another boneless turkey breast to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe was delicious! The turkey turned out so tender and juicy I would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was excellent and VERY tender! I made a couple adjustments. I'm not a fan of citrus flavors, so I omitted the juices and just used chicken broth. I also minced the garlic instead of the full cloves, which added a lot more flavor. Hubby said it was the best turkey he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Hate to be the squeaky wheel on this one, but I didn't like it. I followed the directions exactly, but I couldn't taste any citrus at all. In fact, I couldn't taste anything, it was so bland. And it was really dry.No amount of Stove Top Stuffing was going to save this one. As you may have guessed, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was very quick and easy to pull together. Followed the directions the first time, except for using a smaller amount of paprika and it was great. I've since adjusted the recipe more and we now use it regularly to make our own lunchmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Extremely easy, great taste, and tender! I made the recipe as listed and the turkey came out to perfection. However, 2 tbsp of corn starch did not yield a gravy. The juices were still watery but still delicious on the sliced turkey. Also, I would probably place sliced lemons/limes or oranges into the crockpot to add more zest to the flavor. Another review said too much garlic - I disagree, it was a nice addition to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and the results were fabulous. The turkey was so tender that it fell into pieces as I lifted it out of the crock pot! The gravy was flavorful but not heavy. This is so easy to make, yet it's a dish that looks as if you babied it all day long. Another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was a wonderful way to do a small turkey. My dh and I are not turkey lovers usually, but this was really moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The gravy for this recipe is awesome! I actually used a turkey hindquarters, since we like dark meat better and it is what I had on hand. The meat was tender and tasty. We will definitely be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States