Citrus Turkey Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The juice from this made excellent gravy but I had to modify the cooking time. For those of us who commute and work, a 5-hour cooking time does not work. So, I kept the roast slightly frozen and did not cut it in half. It cooked for 10 hours and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Really easy and tasty! Also pretty good as a sandwich, without the gravy of course, but with mayonnaise or mustard and lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was a fabulous recipe. I love the citrus taste. I adjusted the spices because I have small children and it worked very well. It was also good as leftovers; on sandwiches, mixed with gravy and rice. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wow this was really really good, I used all the ingredients but doubled the liquid because i have a large crockpot. I slow cooked it for a little longer because of a time conflic and it came out perfect. I dont think it would have been as tender if I would have done 5 hours. Also the gravy did not thinken or mix well in the cooker so I transfered it to a small sauce pot and it turned out much better. The taste was just amazing and the gravy was great. This was a good meal I may just never cook a turkey in the oven agian! I served this with some homade scalloped potatoes and even my 3 year old(who never finishes his dinner) cleaned his plate, he was almost licking it! You have to try this recipe it is fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! I am not a turkey lover, but this was so good, I went and bought another turkey breast! I would have preferred a stronger citrus flavor, but still great. And super easy! I love my crock-pots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was a wonderful way to do a small turkey. My dh and I are not turkey lovers usually, but this was really moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and the results were fabulous. The turkey was so tender that it fell into pieces as I lifted it out of the crock pot! The gravy was flavorful but not heavy. This is so easy to make, yet it's a dish that looks as if you babied it all day long. Another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Extremely easy, great taste, and tender! I made the recipe as listed and the turkey came out to perfection. However, 2 tbsp of corn starch did not yield a gravy. The juices were still watery but still delicious on the sliced turkey. Also, I would probably place sliced lemons/limes or oranges into the crockpot to add more zest to the flavor. Another review said too much garlic - I disagree, it was a nice addition to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was very quick and easy to pull together. Followed the directions the first time, except for using a smaller amount of paprika and it was great. I've since adjusted the recipe more and we now use it regularly to make our own lunchmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was excellent and VERY tender! I made a couple adjustments. I'm not a fan of citrus flavors, so I omitted the juices and just used chicken broth. I also minced the garlic instead of the full cloves, which added a lot more flavor. Hubby said it was the best turkey he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States