Citrus Turkey Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The juice from this made excellent gravy but I had to modify the cooking time. For those of us who commute and work, a 5-hour cooking time does not work. So, I kept the roast slightly frozen and did not cut it in half. It cooked for 10 hours and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wow this was really really good, I used all the ingredients but doubled the liquid because i have a large crockpot. I slow cooked it for a little longer because of a time conflic and it came out perfect. I dont think it would have been as tender if I would have done 5 hours. Also the gravy did not thinken or mix well in the cooker so I transfered it to a small sauce pot and it turned out much better. The taste was just amazing and the gravy was great. This was a good meal I may just never cook a turkey in the oven agian! I served this with some homade scalloped potatoes and even my 3 year old(who never finishes his dinner) cleaned his plate, he was almost licking it! You have to try this recipe it is fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Extremely easy, great taste, and tender! I made the recipe as listed and the turkey came out to perfection. However, 2 tbsp of corn starch did not yield a gravy. The juices were still watery but still delicious on the sliced turkey. Also, I would probably place sliced lemons/limes or oranges into the crockpot to add more zest to the flavor. Another review said too much garlic - I disagree, it was a nice addition to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The gravy for this recipe is awesome! I actually used a turkey hindquarters, since we like dark meat better and it is what I had on hand. The meat was tender and tasty. We will definitely be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! I am not a turkey lover, but this was so good, I went and bought another turkey breast! I would have preferred a stronger citrus flavor, but still great. And super easy! I love my crock-pots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Pra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for dinner a few nights ago because I had bought a Turkey Breast Tenderloin and looked for a recipe but really couldn't find one then I was told I could just put into a crock pot, I then found this recipe so I used this but changed it up a bit because I had to use what I had in the house. I used the Turkey breast tenderloin and garlic powder and paprika I used veg. oil not olive oil ( although I think olive oil would have been a lot better) I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce. I did but a dash of soy sauce in it. I used salt and pepper and the garlic cloves. I used chicken broth not wine. I also had O.J. in the fridge but at some point through the night my boyfriend must have got up and drank the rest of it, so I couldn't use that either. I made the gravy and it was great. I made homemade mashed potatoes and corn with this along with some dinner rolls. Great dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and the results were fabulous. The turkey was so tender that it fell into pieces as I lifted it out of the crock pot! The gravy was flavorful but not heavy. This is so easy to make, yet it's a dish that looks as if you babied it all day long. Another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Tender and juicy. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Not bad; the turkey was moist and flavorful, but the garlic overwhelmed any hint of citrus flavor. Might try again with half the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Pretty good, although I'm not sure just 1 tbsp of lemon juice in the recipe is enough to make it Citrus Turkey Roast. The gravy didn't thicken up for me in the crock pot, I had to put it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States