Citrus Turkey Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for dinner a few nights ago because I had bought a Turkey Breast Tenderloin and looked for a recipe but really couldn't find one then I was told I could just put into a crock pot, I then found this recipe so I used this but changed it up a bit because I had to use what I had in the house. I used the Turkey breast tenderloin and garlic powder and paprika I used veg. oil not olive oil ( although I think olive oil would have been a lot better) I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce. I did but a dash of soy sauce in it. I used salt and pepper and the garlic cloves. I used chicken broth not wine. I also had O.J. in the fridge but at some point through the night my boyfriend must have got up and drank the rest of it, so I couldn't use that either. I made the gravy and it was great. I made homemade mashed potatoes and corn with this along with some dinner rolls. Great dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Despite all the glowing reviews, I have to agree with Nicole on this recipe. I did use a turkey london broil in place of the roast and I did mince the garlic. The turkey was tender but the only flavor that came through was the paprika. I could not detect the orange juice or the garlic. Maybe this would be okay with a lot less paprika, but I'm not going to waste another boneless turkey breast to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe was delicious! The turkey turned out so tender and juicy I would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was excellent and VERY tender! I made a couple adjustments. I'm not a fan of citrus flavors, so I omitted the juices and just used chicken broth. I also minced the garlic instead of the full cloves, which added a lot more flavor. Hubby said it was the best turkey he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Hate to be the squeaky wheel on this one, but I didn't like it. I followed the directions exactly, but I couldn't taste any citrus at all. In fact, I couldn't taste anything, it was so bland. And it was really dry.No amount of Stove Top Stuffing was going to save this one. As you may have guessed, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was very quick and easy to pull together. Followed the directions the first time, except for using a smaller amount of paprika and it was great. I've since adjusted the recipe more and we now use it regularly to make our own lunchmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Extremely easy, great taste, and tender! I made the recipe as listed and the turkey came out to perfection. However, 2 tbsp of corn starch did not yield a gravy. The juices were still watery but still delicious on the sliced turkey. Also, I would probably place sliced lemons/limes or oranges into the crockpot to add more zest to the flavor. Another review said too much garlic - I disagree, it was a nice addition to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and the results were fabulous. The turkey was so tender that it fell into pieces as I lifted it out of the crock pot! The gravy was flavorful but not heavy. This is so easy to make, yet it's a dish that looks as if you babied it all day long. Another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was a wonderful way to do a small turkey. My dh and I are not turkey lovers usually, but this was really moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The gravy for this recipe is awesome! I actually used a turkey hindquarters, since we like dark meat better and it is what I had on hand. The meat was tender and tasty. We will definitely be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States