Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Washington mountainman
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Very quick and easy to prepare. I salted the whole bird, then stuffed it with the ingredients for the brine. The citrus flavor was not too strong. Everyone enjoyed the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Washington mountainman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have done this brine for many years and it is hands down my favorite. It is wonderful as is,but over the years it has morphed into its own. I replace 1/2 gallon of water with orange juice, throw in a poultry pack of fresh herbs and an extra orange and lemon. We deep fry instead of bake. 5 stars as is and 5 stars with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was my first time to brine and I definitely will continue doing it. The only change I made was to use whole peppercorns. I used a 5 gallon bucket and a 12 lb. turkey overnight, with ice on top of turkey. I then rubbed butter under the skin, salted and peppered outside of skin and roasted in an oven bag. It was ready in 2 hours and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had such high hopes for this brine as it was my first time brining a turkey. I have to say the turkey was moist and delicious BUT I could not taste any of the flavors that went into the brine at all. So I probably won't use this again for a turkey. The citrus brine didn't seem to give it anymore flavor than a plain salt and water brine would. I would like to try it again using a smaller piece of meat. I had a 23 pound turkey that I brined for 24 hours. Maybe if I had brined it for 48 hours then it would have been more flavorful. All in all it seemed like a lot of work for not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Easily the best turkey I ever made! Even the boyfriend, who thought brining would make the meat so salty, could'nt stop eating it and then called friends to brag about it. Leftovers are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent Recipe. Turkey is very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
2nd year I've used it and the turkey breast was just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wow! This was the most flavorful, moist turkey I ever ate! It did not really taste of citrus, but just had an incredible flavor! Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookincarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Hands down the best turkey EVER. My 17 year old son said, "Mom this turkey is crazy good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delish! Tender and juicy and fairly easy. Definitely will prepare again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARLENEJMCKEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States