Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!! I have never brined a turkey before but wanted to try it this year. Not only was it easy this recipe was great. I am now a brine convert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I will never cook another turkey without brining it first. This was so easy, and made a HUGE difference in the moistness of the bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I was skeptical, but I wanted to try something new with turkey, and boy am I glad I did! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly (substituted iodized sea salt though) and the turkey was very moist and tender... It smelled heavenly too! The only negative I had about this was the flavors of the citrus and spices did not transfer to the meat, and I would recommend to flavor the turkey with the seasonings you'd like if you do want meat that has some flavor to it (flavor other than the juicy, tender, delicious poultry flavor this brine enables, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I won a frozen turkey and decided to prepare it in a brine solution the weekend after Thanksgiving. My husband's quote "I really liked the turkey we had at my sisters for Thanksgiving but THIS is even better." It was flavorful and moist and this was starting with a frozen in store brand bird. I imagine if you used it for a wild or heritage bird it would be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Just did this brine for thanksgiving holiday and the turkey was better than any other brine I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good! Nice moist turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have tried a plain brine once before but this was much better. I used a fresh turkey for the first time and, because my turkey was 22 pounds, I did not have a pot big enough. I used a large kitchen trash bag to hold the brine against the turkey better, and then put the bag with the turkey's tail up in the pot. It was a good thing I did because it did get a pin hole leak so I will use a heavy duty bag next year. For extra flavor I also rubbed oil and a mixture of herbs (sage, thyme, paprika, salt and pepper) all over the bird, including the cavity and under the skin and I put all the items from the brine back in the cavity. I barbequed the turkey for about 4 hours till the multiple poppers popped up. (I always use at least three). Everyone said it was the best, most tender, juiciest turkey they've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have never brined a turkey before but will from now on! It was so juicy and husband said it was THE best turkey he's ever had. I didn't follow the directions exactly - I was a little nervous of soaking overnight in essentially a salt water mixture, so I reduced the salt some, but it was wonderful. Will follow to a T next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Our first "brined" turkey...what a moist turkey!! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding some orange juice and increasing the garlic. Incredible difference in tenderness and moisture. I didn't find any difference in cooking time as some people had noted (decreased from non-brined), but I did not let it reach room temperature before cooking as some did...we grill ours outside in a Weber Kettle...All our future turkeys will be prepared this way! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good recipe. I did add another orange and chopped the garlic up a little. Next time I will use peppercorns instead of pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States