Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
WOW.!!!! I will never make a turkey any other way. Followed recipe exactly and did not change or add a thing. Cooked turkey breast side down after and it turned out amazing, moist, flavorful , and delicious.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used this all the time to marinade a whole chicken, it would work well with chicken parts, too. I use lemon juice when I don't have lemons and I have subbed orange juice when I don't have oranges, which is often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I frequently use this brine. It's perfect for Beer Butt Chicken. Everyone raves about the juiciness and flavor. I add black peppercorns and bring to a boil to dissolve the salt and get the flavors going. I'm thinking of throwing in a few dried hot chilies next time.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I have used this same general recipe on a Capon and followed up with the classic forty cloved of garlic James Beard was so famous for contriving. I took it to the lake with family and I had to leave for a few hours and when I returned they had eaten it like wolves! They "saved" me the bony pieces! They couldn't quit eating it!Needless to say, this is a winning way to prepare poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shallowater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great, great, great! This brine recipe makes for a succulent, juicy bird. I did heat the brine to boiling, then cooled before placing the bird in the brine. I also liked one reviewer's suggestion to put some citrus juice into the brine, which I did in my second time using the recipe. I also recommended this recipe to my son's father-in-law for a Christmas dinner we were invited to. Super flavor! Funny how you are able to enjoy more a meal you don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have been using this brine recipe for years and it never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is my go to brine! Sooooo good!!! I've used it with Cornish Game Hens as well, but only for 2 hours! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Have used this recipe several times now and find that the brine helps with the final defrosting of the turkey and to improve the flavour and texture of the cooked bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Used this brine for a 6lb. turkey breast so I should have cut the salt back somewhat but overall the brine was great! I juiced some of the oranges limes and lemon for the brine instead of just slicing them all. Turkey was very flavorful and juicy. As a side note: To cook, I "buttered" the breast with bacon grease and basted it with (no pun intended!) Wild Turkey bourbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great flavor, turkey stayed moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States