Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
We did this brine for Thanksgiving and Christmas turkeys. It was a very moist and will continue to use a "brine" from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Great brine - the aroma of the fruit during roasting is nice and YES...the turkey was the moistest I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
oh my a wonderful bird. I had never cooked a bird with out putting it in a bag to cook. I forgot the bag so decided to try this . the hardest part was finding a place to soak the bird. Used a 5 gallon bucket in the fridge and every thing from the fridge to the care over night thank goodness it was cold. Will forget the bag from now on the bird was bueatiful and juicy. Cooked 1/2 way with the breast down and covered with wine soaked towel except for the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because the chicken did turn out very tneder but as for flavor I guess I expected more. I read alot about brining beforehand and it says not to brine more than 5-6 hours and also to brine even for a couple days so I was afraid to brine for too long so only did it for 6 hours. I put the fruit in the cavity along with a few garlic cloves. If not for that I don't think the chicken would have much taste. My usual method of heavy seasoning inside/outside of the chicken with lemons & garlic in the cavity tastes better, I think. And much less work. But I may try it again and brine for a longer period next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was amazing! The turkey was so tender. My husband told me it was better than his moms. Our first thanksgiving was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am giving five stars b/c the turkey was so moist, but I am not sure if the oranges and onion and all that did anything. Maybe it added a depth of flavor I would have missed had I not added it. Very good over all I used one person's suggestion to brine my turkey in my veggie crisper drawer in my fridge. Worked perfectly. I will only brine a turkey from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars b/c I didn't follow it exactly; I'd rather give it 2 or 3... I used juices instead of the fresh fruit, b/c that's what I had. Other people did that with great success, though. My issue was that parts of the turkey were very salty (especially the leg/thigh meat) and others were fine. I was so excited about trying this recipe based on the reviews, but I probably won't be brining any poultry in the future. Seems like an awful lot of work when the turkey didn't taste any better than the turkeys I normally make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I used this brine this Thanksgiving and it was lovely. I threw in a sliced grapefurit too. The turkey I made (Maple turkey from this site) came out juicy and tender. I will likely repeat this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This brine made all the difference in my first turkey. I rubbed the bird with some salt then warmed up the water & other items plus added the additional salt. I wanted to ensure the salt dissolved. I placed in a clean, garbage bag & placed in the fridge. I had to omit the thyme because I had none on hand & used what I did have. The only thing negative to say was that while the bird was perfect the drippings came out too salty. When I used the drippings for the gravy & stuffing they both were edible but too salty for my taste. Nevertheless, I look forward to using this recipe again especially with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I have used this brine several times for chickens as well as turkeys. I should have rated it a long time ago. THIS WORKS FOR A GOOD JUICY CHICKEN, ROASTER OR TURKEY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States