Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
i love this recipe! however, i do change it a bit. i add 4 cloves (you can leave 'em out) and zest half the oranges and lemons before throwing them in. i start with a half gallon of water and bring to a boil, then turn the heat off and let steep for an hour. this really blends and brings the flavors out!. then, i add ice until cooled and measures the gallon and a half. i put the turkey in a roasting bag to brine and as i pour the brine in, i make sure the citrus and onions go in the cavity. you can put in the fridge, or keep cool overnight on ice. smoke over cherrywood. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I love brining. It is so good. I don't ever put in the garlic this recipe calls for as my husband hates garlic. I also double the lemons and don't include the orange. You may want to use Kosher or salt other than just table salt for a more potent flavor. Make sure to squeeze the lemon and put it into the cavity. We cook it in a bag just for more juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe over Thanksgiving- it was the best turkey I have ever had!! Even the white meat was juicy and tasty, for days afterwards too. Like others said I added a bit of orange juice to the water, and stuffed the oranges, lemons, onions and other things in the cavity of the bird while it cooked. I love this brine, I'm going to try it on everything now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving using a fresh free-range heirloom turkey breast and organic tree-ripened citrus. So perfect! Everyone loved it; thank you so much for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUZZYGIRAFFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
We halved the salt and added about 1/4 cup white wine to brine a 5lbs turkey breast, and the result was fabulous. The brine gave the turkey a much more deep and complex flavor than simply roasting it does, and our turkey was wonderfully moist! I can't wait to try out this brine on a chicken! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My comment isnt on this recipe in particular, just a tip on brining in general. Last year I brined for both Thanksgiving and Christmas, it they were the best birds Ive ever had. My tip is this.....place bird in an oven roasting bag with brine ingredients, then place in a cooler with ice. Slosh the bag around several times during the marinating process. This clears up MUCH needed refrigerator space during the crunch time before cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is the first time I have ever used a brine on poultry. My grandmother used to brine duck before roasting but I never had the chance to ask her what the ingredients were before she passed away. I used a split turkey breast and cut the recipe in half, soaked it overnite and roasted the breasts in the oven at 375 for about an hour and 45 mins. While the meat was juicy and tasted great I didn't notice any of the brine flavors like other reviewers had mentioned. Maybe I should have pierced the breasts with a fork or squeezed the lemon and orange to get more juice out? Not sure if I will bother to brine my turkey or chicken again since I've never really had a problem with poultry turning out dry. I think basting with citrus juice while roasting might be interesting though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
My family will not let me cook our turkey any other way. PERFECT juicy, flavorful turkey EVERYTIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is great! We added cranberries and more garlic which made it have a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I am a firm believer that once you trying brining, you will NEVER go back to regular seasoning. I used this for 2 turkey breasts and we had thanksgiving in March. Together with the awesome apple, sausage and cranberry stuffing recipe there were no leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States