Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Made my turkey VERY juicy and tender last year. I cooked a 22 lb turkey for 10 people, and there was none leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is the first time I've brined a turkey, and I have to say it was the most moist ever! Instead of using a lemon and an orange, I used 1/2 cup Real Lemon juice, and 3/4 cup orange juice. Also used coarse kosher salt. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used this brine for the Thanksgiving turkey, and it resulted in the most tender, juiciest bird ever! I did have to more than double the recipe in order to completely sumberge my 17 pound turkey. I also stuffed the lemons, oranges, garlic and bay leaves in the cavity before roasting. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I found that if the turkey is too salty that I could change the type of turkey and make a big difference. Butterball adds lots of salt injected in the bird. I like fresh local turkeys the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I have struggled with Turkeys all my life...so did my mom, who was a really good homemaker and cook. For a long time I've cooked them in a sealed foil tent to hold in the moisture and flavor, basting at the end to get some good sizzle on it. This year I brined with this recipie (being very liberal with the quantities of ingredients, as it was a 20 lb bird) and then baked it in a tent, as usual......oh my goodnees. I will never not brine again. This is outstanding. Have a gourmet cook in the extended family, and my nieces and daughter were all comparing this bird to his (which are a seriously religious experience to eat, but I suspect he goes to a lot of trouble)... For the little bit of extra work involved, this is a superb way to treat a bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
EXCELLENT! Brined turkey is the moisted and most flavorful I've ever had. I just mixed the salt, citrus and herbs into the water and dropped in my turkey. I also added a 1/2 cup of sugar and some sprigs of rosemary. Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I used orange juice and RealLemon instead of fresh fruit because that's what I had available. Also, used less than a gallon of water. Brined two turkeys, and they were both great. Easily the best turkeys I have ever made. The turkeys themselves were bargain basement frozen birds, not fancy high dollar fresh turkeys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was excellent and well worth the effort. Just make very sure you do not get a prebasted turkey. A fresh turkey works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Fantastic, best brine recipe that I have every used. My turkey was the juciest ever, even the breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My turkey was superb! I used the brine, then cooked in a bag upside down (on it's breast) and it was the juiciest turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq

Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States