Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
So easy! Thanks for sharing! I was wacky and this Easter we served turkey. Living in Southern CA our family has several citrus trees - oranges & lemons - so I wanted to incorporate that into this springtime meal. Well this was perfect! I loved seeing the chagrin on my mother-in-laws face when she had to admit my turkey was delicious! It was juicy, flavorful and fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLACASandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this for xmas 2010 and I am planning on making it again for Easter 2011. Everyone who tasted this turkey loved it. The only modifications I made were (lemon juice instead of real lemons due to thats all I had on stock), and I used 2-3 cut up oranges and added no thyme. Also I substituted regular salt for kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaFaith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Everyone raved about the moistness of the turkey, and the overall flavor. Everyone wanted to know what I did to make the turkey so moist. I will definitely use this recipe again, and now so will others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great.... turkey was so juicy and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I haven't used this with turkey, but several times with a chicken! I let my chicken sit once for a half hour after cooking, and it still literally gushed with juices when I carved it! One thing to remember is that when you use a brine, you need to make sure you thoroughly wash your bird off afterwards or it will come out dry and salty. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
It's Superbowl Eve, and I just put my turkey in the brine! I tried this recipe for the 1st time Thanksgiving-it was by far the juicest bird I'd ever prepared. NO LEFTOVERS AT ALL!!! I'm hoping for the same effect with this one. I'm not a big salty flavor fan, so I only let mine brine an hr per pound(learned this from "mistakes" of using the "brine for 24hrs" rule-of-thumb on a couple of previous tries). After taking the bird out of the brine, I rinse it under cold h2o for 3-5 mins. After dring it off, I spray it w/Pam and use a variety of seasonings EXCEPT salt. I use an electric water smoker, with some pecan wood chunks. Talk about good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
WONDERFUL! Used on an older turkey, which would have a strong flavor (too strong for my taste), and this really complemented and tenderized the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Fantastic! All my previous brines have been simply salt water. This is a nice blend of seasonings, citrus, and herbs. If only my turkey knew he was prepared with love and enjoyed by many... Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I got so many compliments on my turkey after using this. I will never use anything other brine again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
very easy and very good. I let mine sit for 24 hours, the turkey just fell apart after cooking it, gave off alot of juice for gravy, i stuffed my turkey with vegetables when cooking, anything i happen to have in the fridge, i find adding anything citrus in the cavity makes a terrible taste in the juice for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States