Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good! Nice moist turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have tried a plain brine once before but this was much better. I used a fresh turkey for the first time and, because my turkey was 22 pounds, I did not have a pot big enough. I used a large kitchen trash bag to hold the brine against the turkey better, and then put the bag with the turkey's tail up in the pot. It was a good thing I did because it did get a pin hole leak so I will use a heavy duty bag next year. For extra flavor I also rubbed oil and a mixture of herbs (sage, thyme, paprika, salt and pepper) all over the bird, including the cavity and under the skin and I put all the items from the brine back in the cavity. I barbequed the turkey for about 4 hours till the multiple poppers popped up. (I always use at least three). Everyone said it was the best, most tender, juiciest turkey they've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have never brined a turkey before but will from now on! It was so juicy and husband said it was THE best turkey he's ever had. I didn't follow the directions exactly - I was a little nervous of soaking overnight in essentially a salt water mixture, so I reduced the salt some, but it was wonderful. Will follow to a T next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Our first "brined" turkey...what a moist turkey!! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding some orange juice and increasing the garlic. Incredible difference in tenderness and moisture. I didn't find any difference in cooking time as some people had noted (decreased from non-brined), but I did not let it reach room temperature before cooking as some did...we grill ours outside in a Weber Kettle...All our future turkeys will be prepared this way! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good recipe. I did add another orange and chopped the garlic up a little. Next time I will use peppercorns instead of pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing! Made the turkey fork tender and juicy! We stuff the bird with dressing and I was worried it would make the dressing and drippings (for gravy) to salty, but it did not at all. SO amazing! I was skeptical if brining really made a difference - but it was totally worth the effort! I also made a herb butter and rubbed it under the skin before cooking (no salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Followed exact recipe it was the most tender and moist turkey I every cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really delicious, moist, and fragrant turkey, I only got to sample a little bit because the people I made it for gobbled it up in no time! Plus my friends originally didn't like turkey because it was dry but this recipe definitely changed their minds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkyumi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe but unlike one review you must rinse the bird well let the bird sit at room temp before cooking .I like to start at 450 for 45 minutes then 350 till 165 degress in the breast.Then let rest for 1/2 hour before carving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
i used this recipe after ladies at church told me the was the best way to make turkey. it was my 1st thanksgiving together for my husband and I and it was FANTASTIC!!! it was nearly deli-style juicy.we are on our 3rd thanksgivng, and this will be a mainstay. i kid you not, it turned out better than my grandma's (shh!) :-) i am die hard for this trick. i soaked it over night and came out amazing. a must! easy enough for a beginner, like i was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States