Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Dark meat tasted spectacular. Breast seemed a bit odd on first taste, but as leftovers the breast was so moist and delicious. The only real complaint was that the skin didn't crisp up very nicely. Too moist maybe? We made this in the Weber barbecue as we always do. I wasn't sure at first if I would do this again, but after tasting the leftovers that were in the freezer for 1-1/2 months, I'm sold. Best Thanksgiving leftovers ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Love it! I have used this brine the last two Thanksgivings and I've never considered going back to any other way to cook my turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We did this for Thanksgiving and the Turley was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I pretty much created my own recipe & used the citrus from this one...OMG! Citrus gave my turkey an amazing flavor! It was sooo good & hubby loved it! Will totally use again. Thx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I had to omit the onion and garlic due to allergies in the family, otherwise followed the directions. I did brine for a full 24 hours as I had a 20 lb turkey. It was still very moist. I used butter and herbs under the skin, basted with oj, cooked breast side down for about 3/4 of the time then turned over, and it came out very good, very moist and tender. really went pretty quick, not a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used this recipe last year and my family loved it! I did deviate slightly from the recipe. Along with the wedges of fruit in the brine, I also stuffed wedges in the cavity. The turkey was so tender and juicy, the meat literally came right off the bone. I did use a turkey roaster instead of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was fabulous! Before roasting the turkey I stuffed the cavity with the fruits from the brine. I also added a large sprig of rosemary both in the abdominal and neck cavities. I rubbed olive oil on the skin and sprinkled with some kosher salt. Everyone agreed that this was the best turkey ever! The meat was so moist and flavorful! Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Brined the T-day turkey in this for 24hrs this year. Smoked the turkey for 6hrs and cooked for 3hours more. Most moist turkey ever. Good sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newheart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was amazing! It was so easy, I used a cooler chest lined with a big clean plastic trash bag and made sure the water covered over the turkey and that there were plenty of ice cubes. My giant turkey disappeared the day after Thanksgiving. NO LEFTOVERS. The juiciest best tasting turkey I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliyana W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great experience brining this year. Thanksgiving 2011. Everyone was so IMPRESSSED by the moist turkey. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States