Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Turkey came out juicy and delicious...easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've used this recipe (with a few additions) five times and I'm using it today to brine turkey for the holiday. My additions: I add 3 Tablespoons of liquid smoke which is a fabulous addition if you don't smoke your bird. I also add an equal amount of sugar to salt ratio which helps the bird brown beautifully and adds additional flavor. Fantastic receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used to hate turkey because it was so dry but this brine made me love it :). I've used this recipe for 3yrs and it never dissapoints. My friends and family love the way it comes out, extremely juicy and tasty. So far the comments I get for my turkey have been awesome. Thanks for this recipe, now I'm making it a family tradition :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chula-lolis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I used this brine last Thanksgiving. In addition to doing the brine, I stuffed the turkey with citrus and herbs and rubbed it down with the same mixture. In a bowl, I mix 1 onion, 1 lemon, 1 orange, all quartered with fresh thyme, sage, parsely (some roughly chopped, but most still on stems), salt, pepper, and some melted butter. I stuff the big pieces into the bird and what's left in the bowl gets rubbed all over the turkey, including under the skin and poured into the cavity. It was my first turkey and my entire family said that it was super moist and tender, which I totally attribute to the brine. I'm definitely using it again this year, starting tonite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have used this recipe for brining the past 2 years and will be using it again this year. My turkey always comes out very juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I used this on chicken and it turned out alright. It wasn't as moist as my usual chicken which really had me disappointed. I've never used a brine before and I was hoping for something moister. The flavor of the chicken was lacking as well - the skin was delicious but the bird itself didn't have any flavor from the brine or seem to have retained any moisture. I did as others instructed and put the bird into the oven right out of the brine and it didn't seem to help. This was my test chicken to see if I'd want to use the brine for my Thanksgiving turkey. I don't think I'm going to use it. I'm still on the fence - I might combine this brine with my usual method of roasting and put some butter under the skin to keep it moist while roasting. The meat turns out much more tender and moist this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was good....but after the work I can't say it was better than any other turkey we've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used this last year and my Grandaughter told everyone that Grandma was making the turkey every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Bilbrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very good. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used this recipe to brine 2 small chickens. It was my first time to actually do that. I roasted the chickens in the oven after brining them and they turned out very moist! I didn't use the onion, but I did everything else according to the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States