Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My whole family loves this recipe. We've used it for chicken, turkey & Cornish game hens. We've also added sage & juniper berries for variety. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very delicious. Makes for a juicy turkey. I've used this for years and it works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is amazing! I use this for my chicken and my turkey. I stuff my poultry with the same ingredients used in the brine and then bake it for the recommended time. The meat is always tender and flavorful.And the gravy from the drippings is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and used the (Rosemary roasted Turkey) recipe from this site. It was the best turkey i ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Used this reciepe this Thanksgiving. Got rave reviews from the family. I cut the salt in half and added a half cup brown sugar, and doubled the whole thing for my 22 lb. turkey and let it soak in a 5 gal. bucket. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T. The turkey was so moist and delicious. I hardly had any left overs! Anyone complaining that it was to salty must not have rinsed the bird after it was removed from the brine. As many have already stated, you must rinse, pat dry and bring the bird to room temperature before you baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HKR
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was the first time I have ever had a brined turkey and I have to say the juice just poured out of it like never before. I do not particularly like turkey, but I always cook a 20 to 24 pound bird for Thanksgiving. I did not rub salt on the bird first, but put all of the dry ingredients in a sauce pan with about one quart of water. I dissolved the salt in the water over medium heat. I then transferred the mixture to a large stainless bowl, added ice, water, the sliced fruit, onion, and garlic. I put my turkey in two Reynolds oven bags (I doubled them to prevent leaking). Then I placed the turkey in a large party ice bucket, poured the cold brine into the bags, removed the air and double tied it before putting it in my fridge for 36 hours. Thanksgiving morning I took the bird out three hours before it was to go into the oven, rinsed it thoroughly, dried, and stuffed with dressing. The turkey roasted for five hours and I let it rest for 30 minutes before carving. I did not baste the turkey at all and the pan drippings yielded one quart with the fat removed. I made my gravy from the pan drippings and neck meat. The most important thing about the gravy – do NOT season before tasting it. Mine had the maximum amount of salt in it to still be OK. If I had added salt to the gravy, it might have been inedible due to the salt coming out of the turkey from the brining. I found the meat to be flavorful and moist, and not salty tasting since I used an unbasted store bought turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I've used this brine for years at Thanksgiving and it has always resulted in rave reviews by our family and guests. I think a huge part of that success is that I drain the turkey from the brine and stuff with new wedges of oranges, lemons, onions and add celery. I grill our turkey on a gas grill (turkey is placed in a conventional roasting pan with a rack/cooking grate) at 350 degrees and amazingly I don't have to baste but once and this turkey cooks far faster than an oven. For those who feel the recipe doesn't work - don't use a frozen turkey, always use fresh ingredients (including thyme), and keep it refrigerated, not cool, but cold. I have looked for alternative recipes and this one just beats them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this last year and loved it! This year I doubled the recipe for a 18lb turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe was received with great reviews from everyone at the table. I was so impressed! brined my bird for 36 hours before putting it in the oven and man!! was it succulent and moist. I'll make again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States