Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
As others have stated rubbing the salt is not necessary, it will be soaking in brine overnight. This was an awesome recipe. I have brined before, but using citrus was the best! I added a tart apple and sage as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Omit the step of "rubbing salt", it's not neccesary. I let the turkey brine for 2 days in the fridge, IT WAS PERFECT!!! We used the fruit and onions to stuff it with, along with some sausage. After that, we smoked it (13LBS) for 9 hours. Doesn't get much better than that!!! WOULD RECCOMEND TO ANYONE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was great, though I think it was a combination of the brine and method of cooking. I used a 4 lb. chicken instead, and got some great roast chicken tips from a food blog. Simply great presentation and even better tasting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was really the best turkey that we have ever had. Given the recipe out many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Brining is the ONLY way to go for a consistently moist and flavorable turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
turned out always perfect soooooooooo delicious moist tender tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samreyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was the first time I ever brined a turkey, and only the second turkey I've ever attempted (we won't talk about the first.) It was an absolute winner! Hubby said it was the BEST turkey he's had! The flavor really infused into the meat and even the white meat was tender and juicy. The marinade wasn't quite enough to cover the turkey, so I mixed water, a little more salt, and couple ounces of orange juice to cover it. My bird was 14 lbs. I will be using this recipe for my next turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Hey, thank you for posting this recipe. I just add 2 sticks of chopped celery...love it. I posted this at my blog, thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBV002

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This brine recipe is fantastic. I used this for a turkey which I cooked on my smoker. The meat was so juicy and tender and you could taste the citrus in the meat. Only change I made was the addition of a little rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I used this brine at Thanksgiving and had a wonderfully tender turkey. I'm going to use it again this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States