Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have used this brine for my Thanksgiving turkey for the last two years. I buy extra oranges, lemons, onions and thyme and stuff the bird with them to roast. The brine makes such a moist bird, it almost makes it impossible to carve! I'd rather have moist, flavorful meat than pretty, dry slices anyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kap'n Krush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
First time to brine a turkey and it was fantastic! I was afraid it would be saltly so I reduced the salt but next time I will go with what the recipie calls for. Also I used a "cheap" off brand turkey that was injected with some kind of broth solution but this was not a problem as far as worrying about it being too salty. This was the most moist turkey I have ever had...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My turkey is in the brine right now; I didn't have oranges but I think I'll add some tomorrow and let it brine another day. I'll also upload a photo of it once it's cooked. I'm really excited to try this since I've never had a brined turkey before! *** Update, the turkey was seriously the best turkey I've ever eaten... I couldn't stop picking at it when it was done; cooked it in a 16 qt roaster oven... I will use this from now on!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
After 15 years of barbequing the Thanksgiving Turkey, this is the best it has ever been (and they've always been good). Absolutely succulent. Rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is an AMAZING recipe. I could not believe how moist and flavorful my turkey turned out! I soaked the turkey for appox 1 hour per lb. I added a little extra Lemon to the brine and then to my roasting pan I halved more oranges, lemons, onion and garlic. It made the gravy yummy!!! I am for sure going to use this recipe again. I think I might try it with some chicken next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Thank you for such a easy and tasty recipe. I used it for my Thanksgiving turkey and it didn't disappoint! I have never tried a brine before and was glad I tried yours. Everyone raved about how good this was. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have been using this brine for the last 3 years and I must say the turkey comes out very moist and flavorful! I will never cook another turkey again without brining it first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I doubled the recipe for a 22.5 lb. turkey and put it in a clean 5 gal. bucket to brine the turkey. I always brine because it provides moisture and flavor to the turkey. However, this recipe was way too salty and I couldn't taste the fruit. I added extra garlic, onion and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. If I were to try this again, I'd cut the amount of salt by 1/2 cup. Maybe more fruit could be added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This recipe made my fresh boneless turkey breasts moist, tender, and flavorful this Thanksgiving (finally!) Added 1/2 cup white sugar to the brine, and dissolved the salt in the water too. After brining I just rubbed the skin with olive oil and roasted as usual. A great choice using ingredients folks normally have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Turkey came out juicy and delicious...easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States