Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We brined our turkey for the first time and followed this recipe adding 1/2 c. brown sugar as suggested in some reviews. It turned out so moist and nice. Will definately do this again. The only thing is that the brine smelled so good but none of the flavor is in the turkey when its cooked. Perhaps all that's needed is the salt and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was an easy and delicious brine recipe. Even after overcooking my turkey for over an hour (waiting for other items to cook), it was moist and yummy. I didn't taste the citrus at all, but I wonder if the acid helps the moistness of the bird. The only thing I eliminated was the onions, because my husband's stomach is very sensitive to them. I will use this for all future turkeys! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
makes for a very moist and tasty turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
this was my first time "brining" - i reduce the amount of water and salt, substitute rosemary for thyme and brined a chicken. its came out moist and delicious!!!!!!!!!! can't wait to try this on thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
amazing!!! the turkey was moist and had a hint of citrus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
What a great brine. It leaves such a nice, mellow citrus touch to turkey, and the added flavour to the gravy from the drippings is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Phenomenal. Use this on our turkey every Thanksgiving and get so many compliments! I will never cook a turkey any other way...this is the way to go! For less of a mess, we line the pan with a plastic bag so cleanup is a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used this for Cornish game hens and it came out wonderful!!! The only thing I did was add peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This wasn't anything special. Not bad but nothing I will bother to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States