Citrus Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
very good, will try using white and or choc chips in place of cranberries next. omitted almond extract due to nut allergies in family. used orange extract in place of. nice texture to cookie and not so sweet. great. will use this recipe for holiday from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is definitely a keeper! Yum!! I made two batches - both were delicious. I used a cup of cranberries and it was plenty. They melt in your mouth and are light and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CakeGina
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because of a few tweaks that needed to be made. Like most reviewers, I only used 1 cup of chopped cranberry and that was almost too much, I can't imagine using 2 cups. Baking them 10 mins would have burnt them to a crisp; I baked 8 mins and they turned out perfect. I also added more orange zest then the 1 tbsp the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeGina

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I did modify this recipe based on suggestions from other people. I halved the cranberries (can't imagine how you would cut the darn things if you used what was actually called for). I also doubled the orange zest. It was the perfect amount of orange so I feel like had I used less, you wouldn't really be able to taste it. I cut my cookies in 1/4" slices. Was it supposed to say 1/2"? That sounds like a super fat cookie. Mine stayed in the fridge overnight and were very easy to cut the next day. Took a few minutes longer to bake, maybe 14 min. I halved the whole recipe and the way I happened to roll and cut I got 24 nice little cookies. I may decrease the almond next time. Just not a personal fan. They otherwise look great, like confetti. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made these yesterday and baked them today. This recipe is so easy and the cookies are just like you want shortbread to be. They are not too sweet and they just melt in your mouth. I love the added orange zest it adds a perfect balance with the cranberries. Thanks for sharing I am going to make another batch for the freezer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I'm really happy I tried this recipe. It now has a home in my Christmas "to make" bundle. These are a very pretty cookie -- it's so nice not having to decorate it. :0) I also took the advice of the other reviewers and only used 1 cup of dried fruit. It was *plenty*. Thanks, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
amazing recipe. my husband thought they were store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
What a wonderful aroma, from the oven, while these cookies were baking. I made the cookies according to the recipes except that I used unsweetened dried cranberries and only used about 1 1/2 cups. That was plenty of cranberries. After the cookies cooled, I made a thick glaze of powdered sugar, orange juice and grated orange peel to spread on top. Very attractive and festive for the holiday season. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was excellent! Added dried chopped cherries and chopped pistachios.( not big on cranberries) Extra orange zest as well. Delicate, delicious and pretty cookie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poodiesgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Decent cookie. I did not have the dry crumbly problem like some of the other reviews, to avoid, I just tossed my butter and powdered sugar in the stand mixer and really let it whip together smooth. Afterwards, the other ingredients folded together so easily. Shaped into logs with no trouble, refrigerated overnight. I would say that the cookie is on the bland side. It's a good basic recipe, but needs more zest for pep. It is also a mildly sweet cookie. Probably wouldn't be a winner with kids. I rolled the edges of mine in some Wilton's candy coating that I had left over from some other baking, just to provide some extra sweetness and dress them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poodiesgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States