Citrus Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I did modify this recipe based on suggestions from other people. I halved the cranberries (can't imagine how you would cut the darn things if you used what was actually called for). I also doubled the orange zest. It was the perfect amount of orange so I feel like had I used less, you wouldn't really be able to taste it. I cut my cookies in 1/4" slices. Was it supposed to say 1/2"? That sounds like a super fat cookie. Mine stayed in the fridge overnight and were very easy to cut the next day. Took a few minutes longer to bake, maybe 14 min. I halved the whole recipe and the way I happened to roll and cut I got 24 nice little cookies. I may decrease the almond next time. Just not a personal fan. They otherwise look great, like confetti. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made these yesterday and baked them today. This recipe is so easy and the cookies are just like you want shortbread to be. They are not too sweet and they just melt in your mouth. I love the added orange zest it adds a perfect balance with the cranberries. Thanks for sharing I am going to make another batch for the freezer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I'm really happy I tried this recipe. It now has a home in my Christmas "to make" bundle. These are a very pretty cookie -- it's so nice not having to decorate it. :0) I also took the advice of the other reviewers and only used 1 cup of dried fruit. It was *plenty*. Thanks, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
amazing recipe. my husband thought they were store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
What a wonderful aroma, from the oven, while these cookies were baking. I made the cookies according to the recipes except that I used unsweetened dried cranberries and only used about 1 1/2 cups. That was plenty of cranberries. After the cookies cooled, I made a thick glaze of powdered sugar, orange juice and grated orange peel to spread on top. Very attractive and festive for the holiday season. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was excellent! Added dried chopped cherries and chopped pistachios.( not big on cranberries) Extra orange zest as well. Delicate, delicious and pretty cookie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poodiesgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Decent cookie. I did not have the dry crumbly problem like some of the other reviews, to avoid, I just tossed my butter and powdered sugar in the stand mixer and really let it whip together smooth. Afterwards, the other ingredients folded together so easily. Shaped into logs with no trouble, refrigerated overnight. I would say that the cookie is on the bland side. It's a good basic recipe, but needs more zest for pep. It is also a mildly sweet cookie. Probably wouldn't be a winner with kids. I rolled the edges of mine in some Wilton's candy coating that I had left over from some other baking, just to provide some extra sweetness and dress them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poodiesgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Photo by mao
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Added lempn rind with the orange and a little ginger. They were very popular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I can't believe I'm saying this but they were too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Geving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I thought these were great cookies. Like many others, I did not use 2 cups of cranberries. I just added the small package I had and used the zest of a whole orange. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States