Citrus Scallops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Scallops are one of my favorite foods and I've easily made this recipe 20+ times. I don't put the green pepper in and make it with the tomatoes only sometimes. I think I probably use more wine (don't really measure anymore) and boil it hard for awhile. The recipe is great as is but is also very flexible. If you don't feel like zesting, just use juice. Not in the mood for dill? Don't use it. Note on the dill: I tend to use dried just because it's what's on hand. If you use dry, you do have to decrease the amount - dried herbs are more concentrated than fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Fantastic! The scallops were perfect and the sauce was amazing! I did add more wine and vegetables and substituted red pepper for green, but all in all this would and could be great the way it was (I just don't like green peppers). From all the happy people at this home-- THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I made this recipe with basil instead of dill. It was good and easy to follow. I would recommend using a different type of oil (I substituted canola half way through cooking the scallops) because the olive oil was burning up too fast. I also added some garlic at the end because it was a little bland for my taste; next time I will add it when I cook the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This was delicious! I will certainly be making this again and often. I found that I could cut the butter in half and reduce the olive oil by 1/2 tbs, used dried dill instead of fresh and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I served this recipe (no changes) over angel hair pasta. My wife loved it and I know I'll be making it again. The citrus wasn't overpowering like in some recipes and I love the addition of dill. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I used half scallops and half shrimp just for variety. Served it over orzo. Delicious Dish! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Fantastic! Instead of dill, I used 1/2 tsp. oregano and 1/4 tsp. basil. I did not have green pepper and so added chopped broccoli and small pieces of spinach. Plus, I had some shrimp on hand and put a few in. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was awesome! We ate the whole batch of it with not one scrap left over... Will definatly make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This sauce was delicious. I substituted red peppers for green due to personal preference. I found myself taking extra helpings of sauce and dipping my bread in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I was rather disappontined with this recipe. After reading the reviews I was looking forward to a wonderful scallop recipe and this is not a great one. It did have a very bright taste, due to the lemon juice, but I gess I prefer to have a good sear on my scallops and with the flour coating it made it a bit of a gooey mess. I would recommend grilling or BBQing to get that nice crisp out coating and leaving off the flour completely. Then adding the scallops back into the wine/lemon reduction. I used dried dill which might have been a mistake too. All in all it was OK, but not a stellar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States