Citrus Scallops I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was a refreshing starter that I made for my friend. It was pretty quick and very simple to make. My friend is not a fan of cilantro at all, so I left it out- although I believe it would have made a nice addition. I made this recipe with 4 large scallops for 2 servings. I served it sans the pasta and it was perfect as an appetizer for us. The scallops I cooked separately than adding it to the peppers and green onions cause I wanted that nice crust on the top of the scallop. It was a good balance between the sweetness of the orange, the tart of the lime, and the hint of spice with the incorporation of the red pepper flakes. The red peppers sucked up the citrus from the orange and the lime. It added a slight crunch to the dish and complemented the scallops very well. The scallops were like butter! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I used 2 navel oranges instead of 4 and I still thought it was too sweet. Overall it was nothing special and next time I would make scallops scampi instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
as suggested, used less oranges. Lots of flavor. Makes a nice sauce. Keep red peppers slightly crunchy for good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I also added only two oranges and it was the perfect amount. This is a great recipe, but next time I am going to try it with blood oranges and some ruby red grapefruit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Tasty but could be a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I used green pepper instead of red and that worked fine. I didn't have oranges but I added a few tablespoons of tequilla about half way through the cooking of the scallops. Cilantro gave it great flavor with the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
A local store that specializes in fresh seafood was having a sale and they had HUGE scallops, so I went on a search for a great scallop recipe and I FOUND IT!!!! Wow-really flavorful, I added about a 1/4 cup of Yellow Tail Reisling and it was just perfect. My husband is from Florida and he couldn't stop raving about it. I'm going to try shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I really enjoyed this! I made this only for me, so I quartered the recipe. I didn't include any garlic, but instead sprinkled some paprika over the scallops when I first put them in the pan. I also included shrimp (with a 1:1 ratio to the scallops), adding them in right before putting in the orange slices. My only complaint is that there didn't seem to be enough of a sauce created with the ingredients. But this had great flavor and was easy to make! I also made sure to measure and chop everything up before hand so I could just throw the items into the pan right on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
My husband and I thought this was delicious. The kids wouldn't touch it though, even my brave one. I didn't have green onions or a red pepper so used some white onion and a green pepper. I only used 2 oranges. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States