Citrus Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was pretty good, after a few adjustments. From the beginning, I knew I didn't want to make the whole recipe, so I bought only one tub of cool whip. Also, I didn't want to buy grapefruit juice (who could drink a whole container of grapefruit juice, yuck) so I used a combination of lemon, lime and orange juices. I ended up using almost one the whole can of condensed milk and waaaay more than 1/2 the juice the original recipe called for. My advice - plan on using 1 container of cool whip, one container of condensed milk, and add juice to taste. I like it a little tart, this is probably why I ended up using so much lime juice. Tastes pretty good! Sort of like key lime pie without the crust. I'm going to serve it to my boyfriend for Valentine's Day with some slices of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I thought this was great!! I used two cans of condensed milk and a cup of key lime juice and called it key lime mousse. I took it to a luncheon and got rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
this was amazing! i didn't have grapefruit juice, so i used pineapple juice instead. very yummy! a nice little tart treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Ehhh.... This was just OK for us. I only used the one carton of cool whip as suggested & I did add a bit more of the juice (I used a sweet ruby red grapefruit juice). I also cut back on the sweetened condensed milk (I used fat free) but it was still too sweet. My grandson enjoyed his but hubby & I were ambivalent about our's. Thansk anyway Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I loved this sweet (almost too sweet!) yet tangy mousse. I added finely diced pineapple to give it some texture and bring down the sweetness a bit. After I started adding the diced pineapple, I started getting requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I loved this, I added more greapfrute juice then it says, and I used fresh squeezed fruit juices. I love the texture and flavor, it made me feel like I was eating heaven,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This is what I expected, we have a similar recipe that we've been making for years but it uses whipping cream instead of the cool whip. I've been wondering if there was a way to make it less fattening...so I tried this recipe using fat free sweetened condensed milk and fat free cool whip. I used just lemon juice, I used 2 cans sweetened condensed milk as did most other reviewers. It didnt set up as firm as when I use the whipping cream, but the taste was there. We serve ours with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe, i made this mousse twice however i changed it a bit both times. The first time i added 1/4 cup extra lemon juice going by another member's review (i replaced the grapefruit with lemon juice) and added about 2 1/2 teaspoons of gelatine as i found it very runny. I suppose this might have been because i used fresh whipped cream (you dont get frozen whipped topping over here. The second time i made it i made a pineapple mousse instead which turned out great! I used a tin of pineapples and used a cup of the juice inside the tin. Then i added 5 teaspoons of gelatine with just enough water to make sure that the gelatine dissolves completely. It was lovely! Also, both times i added some orange essence as i found that the mousse smelled very 'cheesy'. It still had a slight hint of a cheesy smell but that gave a 'cheescakey' flavour which everyone actually liked quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I'm giving this a five because I after I modified it, it was great, and all my guests loved it. I suggest 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1 cup orange juice. It kind of tastes like those orange push-up pops. I've served it with fruit, and all by itself, and people love it both ways. Serve after a hearty Italian meal for a nice palate cleanser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Hmmm. Maybe I did it wrong, but this was really soupy. Flavor was great, but I had to freeze it to get the texture I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States