Citrus Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was pretty good, after a few adjustments. From the beginning, I knew I didn't want to make the whole recipe, so I bought only one tub of cool whip. Also, I didn't want to buy grapefruit juice (who could drink a whole container of grapefruit juice, yuck) so I used a combination of lemon, lime and orange juices. I ended up using almost one the whole can of condensed milk and waaaay more than 1/2 the juice the original recipe called for. My advice - plan on using 1 container of cool whip, one container of condensed milk, and add juice to taste. I like it a little tart, this is probably why I ended up using so much lime juice. Tastes pretty good! Sort of like key lime pie without the crust. I'm going to serve it to my boyfriend for Valentine's Day with some slices of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I loved this, I added more greapfrute juice then it says, and I used fresh squeezed fruit juices. I love the texture and flavor, it made me feel like I was eating heaven,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I thought this was great!! I used two cans of condensed milk and a cup of key lime juice and called it key lime mousse. I took it to a luncheon and got rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
So simple yet rich. I whipped this up while yakking to my guests. They couldn't beleive that I just made it - no double boilers, no complicated ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This turned out nicely and wasn't bad, but as I imagined tasted sort of fake. I don't think it would fool anybody about being a real mousse. It was also soo rich, you won't want more than a couple of spoonfuls. My husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I'm giving this a five because I after I modified it, it was great, and all my guests loved it. I suggest 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1 cup orange juice. It kind of tastes like those orange push-up pops. I've served it with fruit, and all by itself, and people love it both ways. Serve after a hearty Italian meal for a nice palate cleanser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This is what I expected, we have a similar recipe that we've been making for years but it uses whipping cream instead of the cool whip. I've been wondering if there was a way to make it less fattening...so I tried this recipe using fat free sweetened condensed milk and fat free cool whip. I used just lemon juice, I used 2 cans sweetened condensed milk as did most other reviewers. It didnt set up as firm as when I use the whipping cream, but the taste was there. We serve ours with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I loved this sweet (almost too sweet!) yet tangy mousse. I added finely diced pineapple to give it some texture and bring down the sweetness a bit. After I started adding the diced pineapple, I started getting requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Ehhh.... This was just OK for us. I only used the one carton of cool whip as suggested & I did add a bit more of the juice (I used a sweet ruby red grapefruit juice). I also cut back on the sweetened condensed milk (I used fat free) but it was still too sweet. My grandson enjoyed his but hubby & I were ambivalent about our's. Thansk anyway Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The mousse was very quick and easy to make. Next time I will choose to flavor with one sweet juice and one sour juice. The lemon and the grapefruit juice made this mousse too bitter. I think it would be perfect with orange juice and grapefruit juice or lemon juice and strawberry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States