Citrus-Ginger Roasted Beets and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
REALLY tart!! the grapefruit juice was overpowering and we both like grapefruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was totally yummy - after I substituted grapefruit and some of the lemon juice with...Orangina! It was tangy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I consumed this food and found it to be satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Really yummy - I only kept it covered for the first 15 mins and uncovered for the 45 mins to get some carmelization. Yum. Used orange juice instead of grapefruit (didn't have it on hand). Really really good. Could top with crumbled feta or goat chz - even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFDOG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time for a holiday party and it went over very well. I had to fudge some of the ingredients for the puree but it was a delicious and forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
We're trying one new veggie each week. This is the first time I ever bought raw beets, I tried this recipe, WOW!!! I didn't have grapefruit or lemon juice, so I subbed orange juice and key lime juice. My husband (who was very skeptical at first) LOVED this!!! We will repeat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe for the first time with fresh beets and carrots from my garden. My family loved it!! I didn't change a thing in the recipe other than it said set aside a cup of the veg to blend. In order to blend it properly I roasted the veg and THEN set aside the veg as it was softer then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This recipe is delicious! If you're looking for a tang and heightened taste to your side dishes then try this recipe. You will not be disappointed. I served this as a side with our Prime Rib main and it was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was great! Didn't have a lot of time so I made some simplifications: just threw all the vegetables in a casserole, added the juice (used orange + lemon juice), plain red wine (didn't have red wine vinegar), honey, olive oil, soy sauce and spices. Mixed it all together and baked for an hour (half hour covered, half hour open). Turned out super yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Yummy way to eat beets. I only covered my part of the time - I like the chewiness roasting open gives. I used OJ as I had an open bottle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States