Citrus Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
I tried a recipe with just a slight variation before I found this exact one and this one is much tastier due to the use of the juices, not just the zest. Also if you cut the slice in 1/2 it looks more realistic like a fruit slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Very Good Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These are easy to make and SO tasty... I had never baked cookies on my own before and I was so eager to nibble on something sweet that I didn't take the time to put the dough in the refrigerator. Does that step really make that much of a difference? Because I can't imagine these cookies tasting any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISABLUE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
only ok...I definitely have had better. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This wasn't bad. I left them in a few minutes longer. I also added a bit too much flour, just a bit, so I squeezed half a lemons juice into the batter. But, I like lemon a lot and I like it stronger. It's not bad. Maybe needs more sugar as a result of the added lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I chose to make the lime version of these. The dough came together well and felt similar to a shortbread dough. I refrigerated for 4 hours as stated in the recipe. It was when I started slicing them that my problems began. I only got 18 out of the dough so I thought I must have sliced them too thick, I suppose they were about 1/4 inch thick. However when I pulled them out of the oven after 8 minutes I found that if anything I should have cut them thicker. They had spread quite a bit and were very thin. They also weren't done so I put them back in the oven for a further 2 minutes. Because they were thin I had some trouble getting them off the cookie sheet, I lost about half the batch that way. It's a shame I can't rate these higher because my daughters said that those I managed to salvage did taste really good. Maybe it was something I did and someone else will have more luck. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Awesome! I always melt the butter, then add the sugar and mix before adding the other ingredients. This makes the cookies super chewy. I found that this recipie had a nice, strong lemon flavor that popped against the powdered sugar I dipped the cookies into right after they came out of the oven. Also, I found it easier to get a soft, chewy cookie by lowering the temp and baking them about eight minutes longer than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
had to tweak the recipie a little, but coupled with a simple glaze, it was rather good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I left out the food coloring (who needs it!) and the lemon zest (didn't have any and didn't feel like going out). But these weren't half bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I'm rating this 4 stars only because I tweaked the recipe. Instead of adding the lemon zest to my batter, I whizzed it with the flour in my food processor, let it sit for 15 minutes, then sifted out the zest bits. Then I sectioned half a lemon and separated out the palps and mixed it into the dough after I mixed in the flour. It gave the intense bursts of lemon I like in my cookies without having to add extra sugar to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States