Citrus Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
:) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
It's citrus season here in sunny Arizona and this is just the recipe I was looking for. I made it with lemons and at first thought there was too much flour but I worked it in. Froze the dough and baked them this morning. Yummy! These are like a lemon cookie I had many years ago that were a favorite with my grandmother. A keeper. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
These are good, fresh cookies. I was in a hurry and used tangerines, and didn't chill. They still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These were quite flavorful. I made the orange version with changes per reviewers suggestions; added 1 egg and a bit of baking soda, put a bit more of zest in for flavor, lessened the sugar a bit too and added my home-made orange marmalade instead of food coloring (why add coloring???) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made the orange version of these and here were my variations: I added 1 egg and 1/2 tsp of baking soda because I didn't want flat refrigerator cookies. I also added ~ 1/2 c chocolate chips. I dropped tsp size balls of dough and flattened them a bit on the sheet. They turned out sooo great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I'm rating this 4 stars only because I tweaked the recipe. Instead of adding the lemon zest to my batter, I whizzed it with the flour in my food processor, let it sit for 15 minutes, then sifted out the zest bits. Then I sectioned half a lemon and separated out the palps and mixed it into the dough after I mixed in the flour. It gave the intense bursts of lemon I like in my cookies without having to add extra sugar to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I left out the food coloring (who needs it!) and the lemon zest (didn't have any and didn't feel like going out). But these weren't half bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
had to tweak the recipie a little, but coupled with a simple glaze, it was rather good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Awesome! I always melt the butter, then add the sugar and mix before adding the other ingredients. This makes the cookies super chewy. I found that this recipie had a nice, strong lemon flavor that popped against the powdered sugar I dipped the cookies into right after they came out of the oven. Also, I found it easier to get a soft, chewy cookie by lowering the temp and baking them about eight minutes longer than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I chose to make the lime version of these. The dough came together well and felt similar to a shortbread dough. I refrigerated for 4 hours as stated in the recipe. It was when I started slicing them that my problems began. I only got 18 out of the dough so I thought I must have sliced them too thick, I suppose they were about 1/4 inch thick. However when I pulled them out of the oven after 8 minutes I found that if anything I should have cut them thicker. They had spread quite a bit and were very thin. They also weren't done so I put them back in the oven for a further 2 minutes. Because they were thin I had some trouble getting them off the cookie sheet, I lost about half the batch that way. It's a shame I can't rate these higher because my daughters said that those I managed to salvage did taste really good. Maybe it was something I did and someone else will have more luck. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States