Citrus Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very different taste, very light and fresh! It got more delicious with each bite, though, and great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My family enjoyed this dish. I followed the advice of some of the reviews and added lemon juice, orange zest, tamari sauce, and minced garlic. I used brown rice and cooked it for about 30 then added the chicken. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I too modified this recipe. It was very plain to start with. I have a son who is a little funny about the texture of rice. It has to be firm or he can't eat it. And we eat high protein meals. So, I used: 2 cans of chunk chicken with broth 5 or 6 boneless thighs 2 cans of chicken broth 3/4 C orange juice a bag of chopped frozen onion 3 Tbsp lemon pepper (adjust to your taste) salt (to taste) mix all the liquid together in a large skillet, add onion, and all the chicken. Bring to a boil and cook til the chicken is well done and the onion is tender (about 20 min). I cooked the rice separately. You can use chicken broth and orange juice or water for the liquid. 1 C rice to 2 C liquid until it was done and dry. Bring liquid to a boil and reduce heat and cook 20 min on low. Then served the chicken mixture over the rice. Worked like a charm, is great for leftovers and the rice won't be soggy today or left over. My family loved it! We will do it again. Next time we may serve it over angel hair pasta for a different kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great fast dish! I did follow the suggestions and seasoned the chicken with the lemon pepper, soy sauce & garlic-it turned out great and chicken did not dry out! The rice was just right, flavor was not overpowering. This will become a dinner regular in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
after reading the reviews in an attempt to give chicken more flavor i cut the chicken into strips, and marinated it in some orange juice, soy sauce, worstechire sauce, for 10 min or so, i think it will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was a decent recipe but looked liked it needed a bit more to me. So I did as someone suggested and marinaded the chicken in the orange juice and oil. I added lemon pepper, basil, lemon zest and a pinch of garlic powder to the marinade. I then cooked the chicken in the marinade sauce bringing it all to a boil. I also cooked my onions and some red peppers in oil before adding the chicken and marinade. I made sure I had enough liquid in the pan and then just added the rice to the mixture and cooked until rice was done. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was really good ^_^ I marinated the chicken for about an hour or two before with lemon juice, Bitter orange juice, garlic powder and salt. And after everything was done, I put white cheese on top of the chicken and it came out soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleasa
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
i gave this 4 stars because, with a few inprovements, it was really good. i gave it a chance because the reviews were promising. i marinated the chicken in italian dressing, orange juice and a dash of soy sauce (sounds weird but it was so good!) and sprinkled pepper, salt, onion and garlic power on the chicken before browning. i did everything else as directed. the rice was really good (part if the orange juice was squeezed from the orange i used). the hubbu actually loved this! give it a shot with your own twists. it's worth keeping. served it with the 'green beans in orange oil' from this site. great starting recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foster City, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My family loved this one! I did add garlic, a tablespoon of orange zest, and of course salt and pepper to taste. Overall it's a simple and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
After reading the reviews about the recipe being bland, yet having all the ingredients in the house, I decided to cut the chicken into strips and marinate in orange juice and crushed garlic while I gathered all the other ingredients. After browning the chicken, I sauteed the onion with some garlic before adding the broth, juice and rice. Two simple changes really added a lot of flavor! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States