Citrus Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
this recipe was quite boring,so I switched it up a little. add a little bit of lemmon zest,1tbsp of soy sauce, lemmon pepper to taste and 1tsp of chopped garlic and it really brought the whole thing to life, not only was the chicken more flavorful, but the rice was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is beyond dull. However, it's not beyond saving. As suggested by another reviewer, I used lemon pepper on the chicken before browning it. It was still fairly tasteless, so I whipped up a quick orange sauce of orange juice, lemon juice, sugar to taste, a dash of salt and thickened it with cornstarch. With the help, the family found it good, and it will probably work it's way into our regular menu cycle. It is quite fast and easy, even with the "extras" so it gets kudos for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I marinated the breasts in wheat-free tamari, crushed fresh garlic and some orange juice. Instead of white rice I used brown, organic basmati rice. I also used a different, higher grade chicken broth (sorry Swanson). After I added the chicken to the rice, I placed the orange slices and some minced orange over the rice. It was delicious and my family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am giving this three stars, because the rice actually turned out really yummy, although with the addition of some spices. The chicken though - I am always wary of using whole skinless chicken breasts, because they usually dry out by the time they are fully cooked and this was no different. I seared them first as per recipe, but by the time my rice was done, they were actually not only pink, but raw inside - not a good thing with chicken. I removed the breasts from the rice, put them in a separate pot and continued cooking in a little extra broth for another 7 minutes. When they were finally done, they were extremely dry and the chicken had not absorbed any of the orange flavor. Our dog ended up enjoying most of the chicken, and that's a shame. Overall, the idea with the orange juice has great potential though. I added some lemon pepper, salt, garlic and orange zest and as mentioned above, the rice was great. I will try this again with skinless chicken thighs, which are much more moist and less prone to overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe came out really good. Me and my roommate really enjoyed this one. However, I added more seasoning to the chicken. I used seasoning salt, pepper, and onion powder. This really gave the chicken more flavor.I also let the chicken sit in the refrigerator (covered) for about one hour so that the flavor could really seep into the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
After reading the reviews about the recipe being bland, yet having all the ingredients in the house, I decided to cut the chicken into strips and marinate in orange juice and crushed garlic while I gathered all the other ingredients. After browning the chicken, I sauteed the onion with some garlic before adding the broth, juice and rice. Two simple changes really added a lot of flavor! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
A nice staple for a quick meal. Use fresh oranges and put them into the mixture. I also added a touch of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I read some reviews before making it, so I added lemon pepper to chicken as it was cooking. It was pretty good and not bland. The rice was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eydie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
We all liked it. I did feel like it needed a little more orange flavor. It had to cook a little longer than it called for, but it was moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This dish really lacks flavor, it was only okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States