Citrus Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
i really didnt like it, the rice took forever and really didnt cook through. the chicken was ok but not a lot of taste. i did add some garlic salt to it that helped. my boyfriend really liked though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Really good. Chicken was moist, also added celery, green pepper and mushrooms to the rice. I did add lemon pepper and season salt to the chicken. Next time I might try more orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe and then used the extra glaze suggested by another reviewer (which wouldn't thicken properly). The flavor was okay if you like kind of sweet rice, the chicken was great, but the rice ended up bloated and kind of overcooked. My kids HATED everything about it except for the chicken and it wasn't my favorite either. I will try it again, though. I will use the sauce and cook chicken in it again, but make the rice separately in my rice cooker and then just serve the chicken and sauce over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Italiana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The rice was excellent! Since everyone said the chicken was bland,I cut it up in chuncks and boiled it in 1 cup orange juice and 1 tsp llemon peper.Then I stirred it in the rice with the parsely, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
i made this for my kids and husband the chicken tasted plain i seasoned it and added lemon and orange to it to give it flavor and the rice was ok i probaly wont make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am giving this three stars, because the rice actually turned out really yummy, although with the addition of some spices. The chicken though - I am always wary of using whole skinless chicken breasts, because they usually dry out by the time they are fully cooked and this was no different. I seared them first as per recipe, but by the time my rice was done, they were actually not only pink, but raw inside - not a good thing with chicken. I removed the breasts from the rice, put them in a separate pot and continued cooking in a little extra broth for another 7 minutes. When they were finally done, they were extremely dry and the chicken had not absorbed any of the orange flavor. Our dog ended up enjoying most of the chicken, and that's a shame. Overall, the idea with the orange juice has great potential though. I added some lemon pepper, salt, garlic and orange zest and as mentioned above, the rice was great. I will try this again with skinless chicken thighs, which are much more moist and less prone to overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Pretty good. Like the consistency of the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe came out really good. Me and my roommate really enjoyed this one. However, I added more seasoning to the chicken. I used seasoning salt, pepper, and onion powder. This really gave the chicken more flavor.I also let the chicken sit in the refrigerator (covered) for about one hour so that the flavor could really seep into the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
We all liked it. I did feel like it needed a little more orange flavor. It had to cook a little longer than it called for, but it was moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This recipe lacks flavor especially the chicken. I am going to dice the remaining chicken and add some cream soup and bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States