Citrus Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I can only rate the portions since my substitutions significantly changed the flavor. There was not enough rice, needed 1.5-2x as much. I had to substitute half lemon for orange, and would NOT recommend it! My husband didn't mind, but I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
It wasn't very tasty, the rice was mushy and the chicken was tough. Maybe I didn't follow the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi50

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was a "take-it or leave-it" type dish for us. I found the chicken very bland, and if I was to make it again I would most definitely marinate it prior to cooking. The orange flavor really didn't come through very strongly, I would suggest cutting the broth down to 1 cup and upping the orange juice to 1 1/2 cups. I also found the parsley was too much, would definitely cut that down to 1.5 tbsp. All in all, I suppose I might make it again with several tweaks, but I wouldn't recommend the recipe as its written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
The rice was good but not cooked all the way, the chicken was very bland. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Rice was kind of hard, like it hadn't cooked long enough. Flavors weren't very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I gave this a three because this is a pretty basic recipe. Some of the changes I made were: marinated the chicken in an orange juice, soy sauce, and ginger mixture. I sauteed the onions and added a bit of garlic before I cooked the rice. For the changes I made, this turned out really well. I will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmama307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My family enjoyed this dish. I followed the advice of some of the reviews and added lemon juice, orange zest, tamari sauce, and minced garlic. I used brown rice and cooked it for about 30 then added the chicken. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was really good ^_^ I marinated the chicken for about an hour or two before with lemon juice, Bitter orange juice, garlic powder and salt. And after everything was done, I put white cheese on top of the chicken and it came out soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very different taste, very light and fresh! It got more delicious with each bite, though, and great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States