Cissy's Shrimp Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was outstanding. My reduction never really became a "thick golden glaze" as described in the recipe, but I still thought it was delicious. My only change was to use chicken stock instead of fish stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My family loved this recipe. It really was delicious. You do need to allow the wine mixture to reduce to almost nothing before adding the butter and shrimp. As good or better than what you get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was amazing! I to, used chicken broth instead of fish stock. I also added a little cornstarch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
What a disappointment! This was bland and flavorless. It took much longer to reduce the wine mixture than the recipe calls for. I might as well have boiled the penne, boiled the shrimp, and mixed them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This is really a delicious, lighter pasta. If you're looking for a heavier cream sauce, this is not the one to choose. To add depth to the flavor, make a shrimp stock by boiling the shells from the shrimp. Add enough water to be able to reduce the stock to the required two cups. It doesn't really become a "glaze" but this recipe has wonderful flavor. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was SUPERB! We used 2-3 times the garlic and shallots that were called for. The reduction took a bit longer since we were being careful not to scorch the garlic- maybe up to 40 minutes total. We also used close to a full pound of pasta. This dish had a wonderful flavor and we all loved it. This was an instant favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I made my own stock so I found myself needing to add a little salt when adding the shrimp. I was a little worried that this recipe wouldn't turn out, but by the end, it starting coming together. I did add a little flour to thicken the sauce. I will make this again, but it seemed to need another ingredient. I think next time I'll add maybe sliced baby portobello mushrooms or red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe had great flavor, but the sauce was way too runny. If I made it again, I would use half the liquid the recipe called for, and add a thickening agent to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasigrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe is lovely! I made it as outlined. My fish stock was created from Superior Touch - Better Than Boullion Lobster Base (which adds its own thickening agent). More expensive but well worth it. You must reduce the broth well before tossing with the pasta. Don't forget that the pasta will absorb some of the juices (I always let my pasta sit in the juices like you would let a roast rest after removing it from the oven...at least 10 minutes.) The parmesan and the pepper are key to the taste. I loved this recipe and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Yep...I made this for my daughters who were having sleepovers, and if you can please junior high and middle school girls, it's a hit! The sauce is nice and light. Exactly what I was looking for! Used clam stock instead of fish stock - based on availability.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States