Circus Freaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by musiclver_2000
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
SO WRONG!!!!! BUT SOOOO GOOD!!!! I sprinkled some crumbled bacon on top of half and kosher salt (sparingly) on the other half before the chocolate hardened, added a little more crunch and garnish. Used thick cut bacon, and cooked it in the oven at 300 degrees for about 25 mins. to make a soft yet crispy bacon. Also used nutella on some instead of peanut butter, even more wrong. Great recipe, I love bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Luzerne, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Prepared these for the Recipe Group and our guests enjoyed them this evening after dinner. I didn't have the time or patience for the candy thermometer so I purchased Dolci Microwave Hard Dark Choc Shell Coating. It worked great! I also crumbled the bacon. This eliminated the toothpick and made it easier for me. I spread the PB on the banana, dipped it in the crumbled bacon, pressed lightly, and then drizzled the chocolate over the top and smoothed with a spoon around the sides. Still a little messy but quick and easy. Before the chocolate set-up, I sprinkled Sea Salt, Banana Chips or crumbled bacon on each. This was a fun and different recipe and we were pleasantly surprised with the sweet/smokey/salty flavor. I will make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made these for the recipe group this week. I will go ahead and say...this was very messy for me and mine looked nothing like the picture. However, I think that should be attributed to my inexperience rather than the recipe. I loved this combo, though- definitely a little bizarre, but sinfully yummy. One error I made was making the bacon too crispy- I disklike soggy fatty bacon but with as crisp as it was it fell apart when I tried to skewer it to the banana. Honestly, in the future...only when I am home alone, of course...I may just make a sort-of banana split out of it and call it good. Anyway, a pleasantly surprising little snack that has all of my favorite foods in one- peanut butter, chocolate, and bacon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made these for Recipe Group, and they were sooooo good! Made as written, but I had some cooked, crumbled bacon to use up, so I just 'dipped' the peanut butter bananas in there and that seemed to work out great. once the chocolate hardened, I drizzled them with some more chocolate just to make them look pretty. I don't know how often I would actually make these, but I will definately be making them again! Thanks for sharing such a fun, unique and 'freakishly' delicious recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Made this today for a birthday party tomorrow. If I may quote my hubby..."It's like a mouthful of awesome!" I took short cuts (microwave chocolate, precooked bacon warmed up, different coating method) but still...WOW! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KraklinRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made these for Recipe Group but I didn't love these as much as I expected - but they were good. I used maple cured bacon which added another flavor. Make sure your banana isn't too ripe or they fall apart. I gave up trying to spread the PB on the banana and just dabbed it on the bacon squares then added the banana. I spooned my chocolate over each, let it set, then turned them over and covered the bottom. I doubt I'll make these again, but loved trying them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was a fun, freaky, odd little recipe the Recipe Group chose this week. I only wanted a taste, so I cooked three slices of bacon and cut each into 3 pieces. Then I cut 9 banana slices and topped each one with peanut butter. I plopped them down onto the bacon and stuck a toothpick through the middle. Because I didn't want to fool with a candy thermometer, I just melted some Wilton Candy Melts and spooned on the chocolate. I did top them with little colorful sprinkles. I placed them on wax paper until they were dry. I could taste each ingredient - a sweet and salty little party in my mouth. I probably won't fix this again, but it was fun to try out such a quirky recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I love all the ingredients in this recipe and the combo of sweet and salty, so when these were choosen as the recipe of the week by Recipe Group I was excited to make them. I only made two because I was the only one interested in trying them. I used a round slice of banana, topped that with the peanut butter then place a small piece of bacon on the peanut butter. I stuck it on a wodden skewer and spooned the melted chocolate over the entire piece. I sprinkled a little sea salt on top too. When I ate it I thought this would be better with a thin, crisp piece of proscuitto in place of the bacon. My bacon was crisp but the texture turned me off from eating the second one, I wanted some more crunch. Thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Brilliant! Ok, so I didn't exactly follow the recipe, so beware! One of my favorite desserts is frozen chocolate covered bananas. I make them at home because I can use high quality chocolate (TJ's Pound Plus milk chocolate and Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips)...but my other favorite thing is the chocolate/pb combo. So what did this recipe inspire me to do? Cut my bananas in half lengthwise and spread them with Jiff creamy pb BEFORE I froze them. Then I dipped them in chocolate and froze again before eating and OH MY these are the BEST! I am SO thankful for you and your recipe J.S.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Too funky for me. The bacon ended up chewy, despite the fact that I tried to make it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States