Circus Freaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The recipe was great overall. After making it according to the recipe I would tweak it a bit. I think if the banana was a slice and a litte smaller than described here then the banana flavor and the accompanying chocolate covering would not overwhelm the peanut butter and bacon. It seemed like the flavors needed more balance. However, it was a big hit at the party I took it to and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Not my favorite. They were unique, but not as tasty as I had hoped. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Too funky for me. The bacon ended up chewy, despite the fact that I tried to make it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Brilliant! Ok, so I didn't exactly follow the recipe, so beware! One of my favorite desserts is frozen chocolate covered bananas. I make them at home because I can use high quality chocolate (TJ's Pound Plus milk chocolate and Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips)...but my other favorite thing is the chocolate/pb combo. So what did this recipe inspire me to do? Cut my bananas in half lengthwise and spread them with Jiff creamy pb BEFORE I froze them. Then I dipped them in chocolate and froze again before eating and OH MY these are the BEST! I am SO thankful for you and your recipe J.S.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Made this today for a birthday party tomorrow. If I may quote my hubby..."It's like a mouthful of awesome!" I took short cuts (microwave chocolate, precooked bacon warmed up, different coating method) but still...WOW! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KraklinRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was a fun, freaky, odd little recipe the Recipe Group chose this week. I only wanted a taste, so I cooked three slices of bacon and cut each into 3 pieces. Then I cut 9 banana slices and topped each one with peanut butter. I plopped them down onto the bacon and stuck a toothpick through the middle. Because I didn't want to fool with a candy thermometer, I just melted some Wilton Candy Melts and spooned on the chocolate. I did top them with little colorful sprinkles. I placed them on wax paper until they were dry. I could taste each ingredient - a sweet and salty little party in my mouth. I probably won't fix this again, but it was fun to try out such a quirky recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Prepared these for the Recipe Group and our guests enjoyed them this evening after dinner. I didn't have the time or patience for the candy thermometer so I purchased Dolci Microwave Hard Dark Choc Shell Coating. It worked great! I also crumbled the bacon. This eliminated the toothpick and made it easier for me. I spread the PB on the banana, dipped it in the crumbled bacon, pressed lightly, and then drizzled the chocolate over the top and smoothed with a spoon around the sides. Still a little messy but quick and easy. Before the chocolate set-up, I sprinkled Sea Salt, Banana Chips or crumbled bacon on each. This was a fun and different recipe and we were pleasantly surprised with the sweet/smokey/salty flavor. I will make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made these for Recipe Group but I didn't love these as much as I expected - but they were good. I used maple cured bacon which added another flavor. Make sure your banana isn't too ripe or they fall apart. I gave up trying to spread the PB on the banana and just dabbed it on the bacon squares then added the banana. I spooned my chocolate over each, let it set, then turned them over and covered the bottom. I doubt I'll make these again, but loved trying them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I love all the ingredients in this recipe and the combo of sweet and salty, so when these were choosen as the recipe of the week by Recipe Group I was excited to make them. I only made two because I was the only one interested in trying them. I used a round slice of banana, topped that with the peanut butter then place a small piece of bacon on the peanut butter. I stuck it on a wodden skewer and spooned the melted chocolate over the entire piece. I sprinkled a little sea salt on top too. When I ate it I thought this would be better with a thin, crisp piece of proscuitto in place of the bacon. My bacon was crisp but the texture turned me off from eating the second one, I wanted some more crunch. Thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made these for Recipe Group, and they were sooooo good! Made as written, but I had some cooked, crumbled bacon to use up, so I just 'dipped' the peanut butter bananas in there and that seemed to work out great. once the chocolate hardened, I drizzled them with some more chocolate just to make them look pretty. I don't know how often I would actually make these, but I will definately be making them again! Thanks for sharing such a fun, unique and 'freakishly' delicious recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States