Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love the flavor of this! It was easy and sooo good (I added a little vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe exactly). Next time, I might add a little more cocoa powder and cornstarch. Mine never thickened up. It took about 20 minutes to simmer on low heat, and after I added the cornstarch, I cooked it for another five minutes. When it didn't thicken up, I decided oh well, and drank it anyway. Soooo good! I do wish it was thicker, though. Perhaps it didn't thicken because I used 2% milk... Hmmm. *************Update: I made this recipe again still using 2% milk. I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch, and I waited until near the end to add the vanilla and pinch of salt. I also cooked it at a slightly higher temperature. It still took about 20 minutes to cook, but it thickened this time! Actually, it got a little too thick for my enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great. I was longing for that special pudding-y taste of italian hot chocolate and this captured it. I made it with skim milk and it turned out great. Like others, I used 2T sugar and 1/4 t vanilla. Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yummmm! This is similar to the hot chocolate I drank in Spain. Rich, thick, and chocolatey, it is often accompanied by churros or other sweet breads. It's like a pudding, but drinkable. This recipe is super easy to make. I mixed the ingredients in the pot, added milk, turned on the heat, and whisked. Done in five minutes. Vary the sweetness to your taste. Highly recommended, especially on a winter's evening or to enjoy with friends who have returned from Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Just coming from Spain and Italy....We had hot chocolate similar to this while there and we were amazed with this recipe...I don't suggest you do like we did and buy a machine to steam your milk...but it helps.. I do suggest that you add a little more sugar to adjust for your sweet tooth... I think we will add some vanilla next time to experiment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
exactly like I had in Venice!!! Fabulous and can always add more sugar if you prefer sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Ohhhhh soooo gooooood! The funny thing is I don't lke hot chocolate, chocolate milk, or pudding. This is to die for. I bought a case of the actual Italian Ciobar mix before I left Europe and I am slowly going through it. Nothing like attending Carneval in Venice in frigid February while sipping on a cup of this. MUST put whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is WONDERFUL hot chocolate! It reminds me of the hot chocolate that they drink in the movie Chocolat. It is very thick and creamy but that's why I like it. I added three TBLS of sugar because I like my chocolate sweeter. It was the perfect amount as suggested by another reviewer. I also added two dashes of Cayanne pepper, and three dashes of cinnamon to give it that little extra kick of heat and to cut the chocolaty flavor just a bit. It was really good. I know the recipe says it makes two servings but it filled my big mug and I drank it all. If you want that extra creaminess, use either 2% or whole milk. Also, dipping sponge cake in it is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of salt. This was the best cup of hot chocolate goodness that I have ever had. Thick and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Mmmmm... quite a nice treat! After reading the reviews, I made my own variation: A little less sugar, a touch of vanilla, and a (big) splash of International Delights Hazelnut Coffee Creamer. I always think you can't beat the combination of hazelnut and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I was dying for a chocolate fix and this did it. I made it for my friend's and myself and just loved it. I followed other reviewer's advice and added a splash of vanilla and some extra sugar, according to my taste. Next time I will try it with Cinnamon and Cayenne to see what that gives me. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea.Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States