Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Like the inside of chocolate lava cake! Needs a bit more sugar and a splash of vanilla. Made mine in the microwave: once the milk/cocoa/sugar was warm added the cornstarch and cooked at 30 second intervals until pudding like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Mmmmm... quite a nice treat! After reading the reviews, I made my own variation: A little less sugar, a touch of vanilla, and a (big) splash of International Delights Hazelnut Coffee Creamer. I always think you can't beat the combination of hazelnut and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of salt. This was the best cup of hot chocolate goodness that I have ever had. Thick and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is WONDERFUL hot chocolate! It reminds me of the hot chocolate that they drink in the movie Chocolat. It is very thick and creamy but that's why I like it. I added three TBLS of sugar because I like my chocolate sweeter. It was the perfect amount as suggested by another reviewer. I also added two dashes of Cayanne pepper, and three dashes of cinnamon to give it that little extra kick of heat and to cut the chocolaty flavor just a bit. It was really good. I know the recipe says it makes two servings but it filled my big mug and I drank it all. If you want that extra creaminess, use either 2% or whole milk. Also, dipping sponge cake in it is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love the flavor of this! It was easy and sooo good (I added a little vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe exactly). Next time, I might add a little more cocoa powder and cornstarch. Mine never thickened up. It took about 20 minutes to simmer on low heat, and after I added the cornstarch, I cooked it for another five minutes. When it didn't thicken up, I decided oh well, and drank it anyway. Soooo good! I do wish it was thicker, though. Perhaps it didn't thicken because I used 2% milk... Hmmm. *************Update: I made this recipe again still using 2% milk. I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch, and I waited until near the end to add the vanilla and pinch of salt. I also cooked it at a slightly higher temperature. It still took about 20 minutes to cook, but it thickened this time! Actually, it got a little too thick for my enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great. I was longing for that special pudding-y taste of italian hot chocolate and this captured it. I made it with skim milk and it turned out great. Like others, I used 2T sugar and 1/4 t vanilla. Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Made this as the recipe states, but with sugar-free soy milk and drizzled with sweetened condensed milk. This hot drink has a rich, comforting taste and is not sweet. Mine came out thicker than your typical hot chocolate, but not as thick as I had imagined...maybe a touch more cornstarch is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My roommate and I love it. We've used this hot chocolate recipe the last three or four nights in a row. I keep burning my tongue. It's very versatile, you can add as much sugar (or use less) as you see fit. I've taken the liberty of adding in some vanilla extract and quite like the result. Very tasty... I think I'll try some peppermint extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is very nice for 2 on a cold evening. Different from the usual hot chocolate. Can be sipped, or I prefer using a spoon. Glad I read reviews before I made it--I added 1/2 tsp vanilla, a pinch of salt and a pinch of espresso powder. The flavor would have been flat without these. A squirt of canned whipped cream helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I saw this and thought it would be good to try. I did enjoy it. I really like the thick smoothness. Will try with more sugar next time and I do like the idea of adding vanilla. I topped it with whip cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States