Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is now my new favorite hot cocoa. O had a killer chocolatecraving one night and this hit it. I added 1extra tsp. Of sugar dash of salt, some vanilla and some cayenne.. I will make it for everyone else next time.no halfed it and was perfect for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was amazing!!! I added about 2tsp to it and like suggested a dash of salt, also I put in 2tsp of peanut butter like a different hot chocolate mix said. I ended up being a perfect mix! After putting it in a cup I put on a bunch of mini marshmallows then mixed up butter and brown sugar as a topper instead of chocolate syrup or caramel. Great recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a very good recipe, and people need to realize that the quality of their cocoa choice will give the quality of the drink. Find a very good quality baking cocoa like Droste, Guittard, etc - aim for a dark, dutched cocoa (even Hershey's has come out with one now with European on it). They make better drinking cocoas as they are less bitter to the palate. Type of milk will also change the outcome -- I enjoy 2 per cent milk since I'm watching calories. Whole milk is much better actually. Options that can go with this: vanilla extract; more chocolate flavor with whisking in 2 tbsp semi-sweet choco chips; whisk in a tbsp creamy or crunchy peanut butter; stir in 1 tbsp of heavy cream; stir in some honey for the sweetener; brown sugar instead of white sugar; add in some mint flavoring or crushed mint candies; and so forth. It is a wonderful base as is, but variety is easy with this good foundation and the texture is pleasant instead of too thick. My kids also love it. Can be cooked in the microwave, but have to stir very often and can boil over if not a huge bowl to make it in :-) ENJOY!! Great for dipping graham crackers, shortbread cookies, or cake doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I live in Europe and this is a great recipe for the type of hot chocolate served in restaurants here. Expect it to be thick and, after boiling several minutes, very hot. I like to eat it with a spoon. Delicious and warming on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Beautiful blend! Use 1.5 tblspn raw sugar rather than white - richer and sweeter! Also pop two marshmallows and leave to melt for five minutes before drinking. Delicious! I personally found this extremely sweet as I love 85% cocoa chocolate haha but most people (including my housemates) think it's perfect! To get the thick consistency, I slowly heated the milk/cocoa/sugar until it JUST began to boil, then I quickly turned the heat down to a strong simmer/gentle boil, whisked in the pure corn flour (make sure it'd not wheaten corn flour) for 2 mins and then boiled quite vigorously for exactly 3 minutes. The mixture doubled in size whilst it was boiling. Oh and I also used skim milk! PS. have some hot milk handy for thos who can't handle it's intensity and need to 'tone it down' hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Was very excited to try this recipe as Italian hot chocolate is my favorite in the world. There is only one place in NYC I have found that makes their hot chocolate like they do in Italy, but they charge $5 a cup. I was hoping this would be a good home alternative. However it took FOREVER for the mixture to thicken... by the time we drank it, it was absolutely scalding hot! Maybe the ratio needs to be tweaked? Anyway, besides that the taste was really nice, but not exactly like the Italians do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I loved this. Very dark chocolatey thick flavor. The consistency was like warm pudding. i always have these ingredients in the cabinet, which is a plus. I used to drink this when I traveled to Italy and Malta. Until now, I had been drinking warm pudding until I found this recipe. It satisfies my fix. I added a splash of vanilla, touch of cinnamon and salt, and used 2 tbls of sugar. Will definitely make again. Top with a few mini marshmallows or whip cream and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
More of a syrupy texture than a pudding texture, but who wants to drink pudding anyway? This recipe made a fine hot chocolate, and it works well with dark cocoa powder as well! It'll definitely take the edge off any chocoholic's craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tresbeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Absolutely amazing! You'll never settle for instant cocoa again. The first time I made it I was out of corn starch so I substituted coconut flour, big mistake! Flour leaves it with a grainy taste. Leave it as is, with the addition of a few grains of coarse sea salt to balance the chocolate. Oh, find a bulk foods store and get a good cocoa powder, not the canned baking stuff. Your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. Next time I will try adding some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States