Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
O.M.G.! Now this is hot chocolate! Not real sweet and a nice deep chocolate flavor that is heavenly creamy. I used 2% milk that yielded a just right consistency and another time with full fat milk which made a slightly thicker consistency that I loved too, neither time though did it get "pudding" thick. I top my mug of hot chocolate with whipped cream and would opt for this anytime over many desserts it was that good. Nice proportion of ingredients nikwit, thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is a very interesting combination of a hot chocolate and chocolate pudding. I liked it, but it needed quite a bit more sugar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I've made this several times now and the family loves it! They especially like to eat it frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Was essentially hot dark/butter chocolate pudding in a cup. I made this on a cold snowy day for my family plus a handful of kids from our street - sure that they would appreciate a thick, rich treat after shoveling snow. Much to my disappointment, nobody liked it. Despite putting equal amounts of cocoa powder and sugar in, it was too bitter. After pouring it into cups, I refrigerated the remaining "hot cocoa" and my husband who loves dark chocolate later ate it as pudding, but even he said it wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe! I also tweaked it by addding more sugar and a bit of vamilla extract. One thing to note: the mixture must come to a boil after the cornstarch slurry is added or it will not achieve full thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was really good! I tripled the recipe & added about a Tbsp of cinnamon & a little more cornstarch than the recipe called for (wanted it on the thicker side). It reminds me of a drink I've had in Mexico (champurrado??). YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is now my new favorite hot cocoa. O had a killer chocolatecraving one night and this hit it. I added 1extra tsp. Of sugar dash of salt, some vanilla and some cayenne.. I will make it for everyone else next time.no halfed it and was perfect for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States