Cinnamon and Sugar French Waffle Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SMILEYCOOKS
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I give this a 4 star rating because I think the recipe needs a slight adjustment. First off, there was too much milk for the amount of egg. I ended up adding 2 more eggs to even it out. I don't think it needed the sugar as to me syrup is plenty of sugar. I did however end up adding 1 TBS of the sugar just for the sake of the recipe and that was plenty (although, I'm not someone who likes overly sweet stuff). It would be find without the sugar altogether. I did, however, LOVE the idea of cooking the french toast in the waffle iron!! I thought that was the neatest idea and it made it a bit fun to eat as well. The only complaint I had was that the crust tended to get very tough and chewy. I would suggest cutting off the very outer of the crust before cooking it. Although, that might have had something to do with the fact that I used wheat bread instead of white. Either way, I did enjoy the recipe and will definitely be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I love this recipe! It's fast, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Welbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Why haven't I thought of this sooner?! It came out fantastic in the waffle iron! I will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was really fun to make! I used a raisin nut bread I bought on markdown and I really sprayed the crud out of my wafflemaker. I don't know about you, but mine really tends to get cranky and likes to hang on to most anything I put on it so really be liberal with your Pam. I used about half of a can of fat free evaporated milk I had leftover from yesterday and I did not add the sugar as it wasn't needed. This was great--my two boys thought this was the cutest idea ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
What a great idea to use waffle iron to make french toast, wish I had thought of it myself. I only made 2 slices, so used 1 egg, eye balled the milk and added 1 teaspoon of sugar, couple shakes of cinnamon, and smidge of vanilla....lovely... Unlike making french toast I don't have to stand over the stove flipping it over and watching it, I love this idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
So good! Found the reciped Easter morning made them right away and they were a HUGE hit! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Yummy and wonderful idea! Everyone in my family really enjoyed them and loved the idea of french toast waffles!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe as written. Taste great. My 2 year old loved it. A great alternative to what is normal. Thanks for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Tried it twice, my kids just loved it. Wonderful idea of a french toast in a waffle maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
LOVED IT!!!!! Grand kids thing grandma is the best. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States