Cinnamon Teacake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Thanks, Indira! It seems I have tried a thousand egg-free cake recipes since my daughter developed a severe egg allergy. This is the first eggless cake recipe I'll keep. I've tried it twice so far. Best results were when I doubled the recipe and substituted 1 cup of flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt for each cup of self-rising flour. A double recipe fills my NordicWare mini-bundt muffin pan, plus a couple of small mini-bundts. The texture was more solid and consistent than recipes that use soy lecithin or potato starch/tapioca substitutes for egg. The cinnamon masks the baking powder flavor just fine. I'm going to try a chocolate version next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
this is the most terrible thing i've ever baked!! it took me over 30 minutes and it was raw and doughy in the middle but crunchy on top. the flavor wasn't even that good. i dissapointed my whole family when i served it for breakfast and it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very delicious for ingredients I already had around the house! The only change I made was I used all purpose flour with 1 teaspoon baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon salt in place of the self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Delicious cake, a little plain though. Ever time i made it, it would be gone within a half an hour, so i turned it into a two layer cake and made a topping for it by making a third cake and crumbling it up mixing it with a stick of butter, a 1/2 cup of sugar, and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. It was just what the cake needed. It made it taste a thousand times better. Everyone raves about this, it was a huge hit at work! and very very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Very tasty and simple to make. It's like a snickerdoodle, in cake form. I think that only unsalted butter should be used, though, because I used salted and it came out rather salty. :) The sweetness offset it, though. It was very sweet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
So easy! So good with coffee or hot tea! I bake it in a round cake pan and add a crumb topping (instead of sprinkling with sugar-cinnamon mix from the recipe) creating an almost coffee cake. Besides, it takes mins and I usually have everything in the pantry already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Really very good! I'm suprised this doesn't have more reviews and 5 stars! Super easy and tasty. Only downside is it makes very little. Next time I will double the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Very delish & easy. I put some tin fruit in the middle and cut back a bit on the butter. To clarify, I'm pretty sure that you put only the the butter, sugar and cinnamon in the pan to heat and then pour that mixture into the self raising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This was very good. It's very easy to spice up if you have the spices on hand. Just add some allspice or pumpkin pie spice. Made a nice snack for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This cake was awesome. I loved it. Although I'm not too good at cooking, this cake was simple and delicious. I accidentally created a topping for it, when i tried to take it out of the pan, half of the bottom fell off :O oops! insted of tossing it, I mixed it in with the butter, cinnamon, sugar topping and made a kind of paste! It was delicious, It made the cake even more moist! I recommend this one for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States