Cinnamon Teacake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2000
YUMMY! I wasn't sure how it would work since it is so small, but the cake is very rich. I did a light drizzle of a confectioners sugar frosting over the top and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Very easy and tasty! Only problem I had was figuring out what self-rising flour was. I only had all-purpose, so I added in some salt and baking powder. Worked out fine in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
This is really nice, I cook it in loaf tins and serve it with butter on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
I found only 1 problem with this dish.There wasn't enough. The kids were fighting for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Nice and flavorful - a good flavor that`s not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Really good cake! Just plain butter on top tastes great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Thanks, Indira! It seems I have tried a thousand egg-free cake recipes since my daughter developed a severe egg allergy. This is the first eggless cake recipe I'll keep. I've tried it twice so far. Best results were when I doubled the recipe and substituted 1 cup of flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt for each cup of self-rising flour. A double recipe fills my NordicWare mini-bundt muffin pan, plus a couple of small mini-bundts. The texture was more solid and consistent than recipes that use soy lecithin or potato starch/tapioca substitutes for egg. The cinnamon masks the baking powder flavor just fine. I'm going to try a chocolate version next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Very tasty and simple to make. It's like a snickerdoodle, in cake form. I think that only unsalted butter should be used, though, because I used salted and it came out rather salty. :) The sweetness offset it, though. It was very sweet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Well, I must have done something wrong! The cake tasted good, but it took longer than 20 minutes for mine to bake. When I thought it was ready, the center plopped out. I had to scoop it back in and rebake. I'll probably try it again, but I'll bake it for 30 minutes instead of 20 and use less sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I'd like to have an alternate to this recipe that includes baking soda or baking powder and uses regular flour instead of self-rising flour, which I usually don't keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States