Cinnamon Teacake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I added a little allspice and it tasted very good but the middle cooked very slowly. I baked it for about 30 min. It was the right moistness but was rather crumbly and the slice fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
i made this as a morning snack for my 2 y/o. we were out of eggs she ate the last 2 for breakfast. i didnt have a 6in pan. i think my cake pan is 9in. it was quick to make, i added a cap-full of vanilla, and a little brown sugar in place of some of the white sugar in the batter. i also only used about half of the last topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I love cinnamon. more than most normal people. So this was awesome! Mine turned out a bit dry, but it was still delicious. I didn't have self rising flower so i followed another review that said this, "Best results were when I doubled the recipe and substituted 1 cup of flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt for each cup of self-rising flour" so good. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Drew
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I made this for my birthday and it tasted exactly like the hostess cinnamon streusel cakes. I love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
What an easy and wonderful recipe! I made this for my husband and his friends a few weeks ago and it was gone before it was completely cooled! I did double the recipe and it still came out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
yummmm very good, very moist & crumbly. I left the second topping off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Sorry but this did not turn out at all. It didn't even look like a cake. I will NOT attempt to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LawyerChef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
For a normal cake pan, doubling the recipe is a MUST. This is incredibly easy, and the crunchy butter/cinnamon/sugar topping is sooooo good! I added about 1 tsp. nutmeg, and about 1/2 tsp. each of allspice and cloves. It made it spicy and smell really good while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Not a bad recipe, especially for an eggless cake. I was originally looking for a spice cake recipe so I decided to add some allspice and nutmeg to make it a bit more flavorful, and it turned out tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've made this and so many variations of it dozens of times now! It tastes great, although a couple of times it has come out a bit crumbly. I always make WAY too much of the sugar/cinnamon topping, but the butter/cinnamon spread is just enough! Really sweet. If you want it SOLID (kind of fun, haha), replace the self-rising flour with regular flour and add an egg. It makes the cake basically solid, but I thought it was an interesting twist. I liked it! =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States