Cinnamon Swirl Bundt Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by thatpoliscinerd
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I've made this cake three times in the past month, twice for my classmates and once for my family over Christmas break. It never lasts more than 24 hours! I mixed up some cinnamon sugar (one tablespoon white sugar, one teaspoon ground cinnamon) and sprinkled it in the buttered bundt pan before pouring in the batter. For the cake batter, I creamed the butter and sugar first, and added one egg at a time to the mixture. Also, I used light brown sugar instead of white for the center swirl, and I doubled the recipe for the swirl. It's actually better if you let it sit overnight; the cake gets moister, especially around the swirl. The perfect breakfast cake... just sweet enough for a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatpoliscinerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just follow the previous suggestions to cream the butter and sugar first, double the cinnamon/sugar filling and to bake it at 350 the whole time and you'll be fine. I used my DeMarle silicon bundt mold, and the cake came out moist and nonsticky. I also drizzled a vanilla glaze over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great cake! I made this dairy and nut free, and it came out really good. I used tofutti fake sour cream (used the whole 12oz tub) , and trans fat free marg. At first I was surprised by the very thick batter (I couldn't even pour it) but spooned it into the pan and layered it with the brown sugar and cinnamon, and then it sort of melted in the oven, and rose really nicely. For those who have a problem removing it from the pan--check out nordicware's website. Always oil and flour the pan, and EXACTLY 10 minutes after it comes out the oven, run a plastic knive around the cake, and the center post and then put a plate on top and flip it. (If it doesn't slide out, use the knive again). ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good. This was the first made from scratch coffee cake that I had ever made, and it was so worth the effort. Will make it again for sure. Thanks for the great recipe Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very nice flavor but not the best coffee cake I've ever had. I found it on the dry side and I did not over bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe is delicious. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very tasty receipe. Cake is nice and moist. Next time I will try a brown sugar cinnamon mixture, the filling is the best part of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was great! I, like many, changed the order in which I added the ingredients. I also topped it with a vanilla cinnamon frosting made from store-bought vanilla frosting that I microwaved until it was runny, then added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon. I then drizzled it over the cooled cake. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Awesome recipe!!! Only thing I did different was to use brown sugar/cinnamon mix for the middle and I cooked at 350 the entire time. Turned out perfect!! I made it yesterday & there are only a few pieces left today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
a great base recipe begging for some spin offs. i think i'll work on some variations for this next time though it was very good as is as well. i did use brown sugar rather than white for the cinnamon mixture and i added the chopped walnuts to the cinnamon mix rather than the batter itself. i made a glaze for the cake with 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons milk. this cake is moist and delicious but not overly sweet. i actually think that it wouldn't have been sweet enough had i not put the glaze on. it actually reminds me of a cinnamon roll but with a different texture (cake-like instead of bread-like). next time i think i'll do some experimenting and try adding almond extract instead of vanilla and maybe i'll make extra cinnamon/brown sugar/walnut mixture and try putting a layer at the bottom before putting in the batter... wonder if that might burn though? hmmmmmm... also, i was a little worried because the batter seemed REALLY thick (i definitely couldn't "pour" the batter in the bundt pan, it was spooning and scraping) but in the end it turned out perfectly all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States