Cinnamon Swirl Bundt Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very nice cake. Excellent crumb,texture and taste. Cream butter and sugar first, add eggs one at a time, then vanilla. Add sour cream and flour mixture alternately, beginning and ending with flour. To avoid a crusty, over-baked exterior bake at standard 350 degrees. Also, for a moist cake, do not overbake! This cake is very similar to one made with a yellow cake mix, but a much tastier choice. I omitted the nuts and used brown sugar for the filling--no need at all to double filling ingredients--then drizzled with a powdered sugar glaze when cool. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I read the other reviews and made some modifications when I made the cake. I coated the Bundt pan with cinnamon & sugar, used brown sugar instead of white for the filling, omitted the nuts and added a little extra sour cream (light) to the batter. Results were great!! We took it to a friend's house and I got a desperate e-mail two days later that the cake was finished and they needed the recipe ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This has been a big hit, very good but not too sweet. The first time I tried this recipe the sour cream and butter were quite lumpy so I started over. I now cream the sugar and butter before adding the eggs and sour cream. I also substituted pecans instead of walnuts. Do grease your pan well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking is Awesome
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipie was very good. I would suggest using an icing to drizzle over the top. The icing i used was: 1c. powdered sugar, 2tablespoons milk, and 1teaspon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Wonderful & moist. We loved it. I made a couple of changes - I did not have sour cream, so I used one cup milk & one TBLS vinegar, mix & let sit for 5 minutes (got this from King Arthur). Also, at the suggestion of another reviewer I used 2 TBLS cinnamon. This is probably the best coffee cake I've made & it looks nice, too!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
There are not enough stars to give this recipe it's just desserts! It has set the standard by which all cakes are judged in my house. Easy as can be, comes out perfect every time. My only modification is I double the amount of swirl mixture and divide the cake batter into three so I can layer the swirl. When cut the inside has 2 stripes of swirl and some on top! Fabulous Recipe, I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUAREONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Trail, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was good, but made a cake that only about half filled our bundt pan. I recommend the "Streusel Coffee Cake" recipe submitted by Mary instead. It's a very similar cake, but bigger and moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This was a delicious cake, moist & tasty. I doubled the cinnamon & sugar (half reg. sugar half brown sugar)& mixed it with the nuts. I also divided the cake in 3 so there was more of the cinnamon swirl. The only problem I had nothing to do with the recipe, my bundt pan burns my cake on top. It's not my oven everything else bakes fine. Someone help me, what kind of bundt pan is a good one! Thank you for an awesome cake!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This recipe was so delicious! I am a big coffee cake fan and this one was the best one I've had. I made one modification-I doubled the cinnamon-sugar mixture, then to that added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 4 TBSP of melted butter, 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, mixed that up and sprinkled it in the middle of the cake. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
DIVINE! Made in my Nordicware bundt pan and when dusting flour on the pan, dusted some cinnamon as well. Tastes great and looks cute! 2 little changes: added 1 Tsp of cinnamon to the batter and instead of sugar I used a mix of Splenda+brown sugar to try and decrease a few Kcal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Albarella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States