Cinnamon Swirl Bundt Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I've made this recipe quite a few times. I've tried using milk instead of sour cream (as I had no sour cream), cut out the sour cream all together, and let me tell you it never comes out right without the sour cream. Also I've tried it with and without nutmeg. After very many tries I've found it to be perfect how it is and doubled the filling (also make filling with brown sugar) to split in the batter. Also sprinkling the pan with cinnamon sugar is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMYLOU13
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This cake is yummy! Soft, moist, and flavorful. I made this recipe exactly as listed, only I didn't add walnuts (due to allergy). The nuts aren't needed - plain this is a perfect coffee cake. It could easily be dressed up with frosting, etc., for fancier occasions. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYCOAT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
My super picky husband insists that I make this a weekly staple in our household. He thought I bought this cake at our bakery!! The cake barely lasted one day! I took the advise of others and double the 'cinnamon swirl' portion (as well as substituted brown for white sugar) and I created an extra swirl but other than that, I followed recipe exactly and it was easy, fast, and the results are out of this world. I glazed the top with vanilla glaze--will be making this cake from now on to take to friends and family homes for holidays! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marnie_ray
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made my first cinnamon swirl coffee cake this past weekend, using this recipe. I omitted the walnuts, doubled the cinnamon/sugar filling - using brown sugar for the filling as some other reviewers suggested. And also made a glaze for the top, using confectioner's sugar, milk and vanilla. I baked at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. I was very pleased with the results, considering this was my first attempt - and I am not much of a baker. I enjoy baking, but only do so in moderation - as my husband and I aren't big dessert eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marnie_ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Made this as written. Cake turned out well but we found it lacked a little bit in the flavour. When I made again I added cinnamon to the flour mixture and for the swirl, I used brown sugar with extra cinnamon as well. Hubby loves cinnamon and likes this cake much better since I made the changes. Good Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Very delicious coffee cake. Read all the reviews and took from them. I've always creamed butter and sugar first then added eggs one at a time. Once all the ingredients were combined,I mixed the batter another 2 minutes at medium speed.I doubled the cinnamon/sugar and made 2 layers. For the reviewer who's batter didn't fill the pan, I don't know what happened I had a very full pan and yielded a nice size bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This cake tasted wonderful and pretty easy to boot. The directions are pretty strange but if you do it the normal way (as in butter+sugar, then eggs, the vanilla, then dry ingredients alternated with sour cream) the result is fantastic. I ended up using less flour (about 1/2 a cup less) and a bit less sugar, and since I had no sour cream I used a couple packages of my fat free/sugar free yogurt that I had in the fridge and the final product was still deliciously moist. Instead of incorporating the cinnamon sugar into the batter (why would I want to do that?) I put half the cake batter into the bundt pan, sprinkled over the cinnamon sugar and dolloped the rest of the batter on top. Voila un cinnamon swirl. This cake was super tasty, pleasantly but not coyingly sweet and moist almost like a cinnamon bun at the very centre. In short, a cake that is very easy to get addicted to! Thanks so much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Awesome recipe! Made for my mom for mothers day. Used yogurt for some of the oil. Also added the powdered sugar glaze and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States